Guides: United Kingdom Legal Research Guide: Secondary Sources: Introductory

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Getting Started with Secondary Sources

If you are unfamiliar with a particular aspect of UK law, start your research with a secondary source. In addition to providing background information, explanatory analysis, and commentary, secondary sources will help you to identify statutes, case law, and other primary legal materials that are relevant to your topic.

Scroll down for a selection of introductory resources on UK law, including the most authoritative UK legal encyclopedia. See the following page for a selection of In-Depth Resources focusing on narrower aspects of UK law, along with tips on how to locate additional resources.

Introductory Resources

The resources listed below provide a general introduction to UK law. Visit this page of the research guide for a selection of specialized resources focusing on narrower topics.

The English Legal Process (13th ed.) by Terence Ingman.
Call Number: KD7111 .I53 2011
Provides a topical introduction to the English legal system, covering the structure of courts and tribunals, the trial process and jury system, and how judges make and determine the law. Examples drawn from a wide range of cases illustrate how the system works in practice.
The English Legal System (12th ed.) by Elliott & Quinn
Call Number: KD662 .E45 2012
This best-selling textbook introduces students to the law of England ans Wales, covering both substantive legal concepts as well as how the law is made.
The English Legal System (18th ed.) by Gary Slapper & David Kelly, editors.
Call Number: KD661 .S58 2017
Explains and critically analyzes how the law is made and applied in England and Wales, with an emphasis on significant new legislation and case law, as well as recent changes to the structure of the court system.
The English Legal System in Context (5th ed.) by Cownie, et al.
Call Number: KD660 .C69 2010
Provides an overview of the core elements of the legal system, including the courts, case law, civil and criminal procedure, the role of legal professionals, and alternative methods of dispute resolution.
Introduction to the English Legal System (14th ed.) by Martin Partington
Call Number: KD661 .P37 2019
ISBN: 9780198838838
The author draws upon his experience as both a practitioner and a legal scholar to succinctly describe the purposes and functions of English law, the law-making process, and the machinery of justice, while also challenging assumptions and exploring current debates.
Walker and Walker's English Legal System (11th ed.)
Call Number: KD7100 .W3 2011
This textbook provides an overview of the legal system, with an emphasis on recent legislative and judicial developments. It highlights key issues in separate text boxes and also provides links to relevant online resources.

Legal Encyclopedia

Halsbury's Laws of England
Call Number: KD310 .H3 2008
This authoritative guide to the substantive law of England and Wales consists of more than 100 volumes. Content is arranged by title (subject) in numbered paragraphs. Each volume covers one or more titles, which are listed on the spine. Each volume also includes a table of contents.

Use the Consolidated Index to search by subject. Use the Cumulative Annual Supplement to track changes that have occurred between the publication date of one of the main volumes and the publication date of the supplement. Tables of statutes and cases cited in the main volumes also are provided. For a summary of major developments in the law over the past year, consult the Annual Abridgment.

If you are conducting historical research, or are seeking to track changes to the law over time, consult one of the prior editions of Halsbury's Laws of England, which are shelved on the fourth floor of the Wolff Library and in the Historic Core Collection on the lower level of the Williams Library. First Edition (originally published from 1907-1917); Second Edition (1931-1949); Third Edition (1952-1964); Fourth Edition (1973-2007).

United Kingdom Legal Research Guide

Contents

Key to Icons

Getting Started with Secondary Sources

Introductory Resources

Legal Encyclopedia