Guides: International Commercial Arbitration Research Guide: Regional & Jurisdiction-Specific Secondary Sources

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Regional & Jurisdiction-Specific Resources

Arbitration and International Trade in the Arab Countries
Call Number: KMC500 .N34913 2018
This author of this compendium analyzes commercial arbitration laws and practices in 16 Arbabic-speaking jurisdictions in the Middle East and North Africa, highlighting both their commonalities and their differences.
Arbitration in China: Rules & Perspectives
Call Number: KNQ1829 .P57 2016
The book provides an overview of arbitration in the PRC from the perspective of a non-Chinese individual or business. Avoiding both excessive technicality and undue simplification, it guides readers step-by-step through through the process.
Asia Arbitration Handbook
Call Number: KNC500 .A827 2011
This practitioner's handbook covers domestic arbitration practices, international commercial arbitration, and investor-state arbitration in the 24 Asian jurisdictions.
China and International Commercial Dispute Resolution
Call Number: KNQ485.P76 C47 2016
This book includes contributions from both Chinese and Western legal scholars on the rapidly evolving law and practice governing international commercial arbitration in China.
Commercial Arbitration in Germany
Call Number: KK4030 .K74 2016
This detailed commentary covers both domestic arbitration and international commercial arbitration in Germany, with content arranged to mirror the course of a typical arbitral proceeding, from the drafting of the arbitration agreement to the recognition and enforcement of the arbitral award.
Cross-Border Judicial Cooperation in Offshore Litigation: The British Offshore World
Call Number: K7680 .J83 2016
This book focuses on the British territories of Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Jersey and the Isle of Man, each of which is home to a vast array of commercial entities. It describes the rules and practices of each jurisdiction with respect to obtaining evidence for use in foreign judicial proceedings, enforcing foreign judgments and arbitral awards, and cross-border insolvency.
The Developing World of Arbitration: A Comparative Study of Arbitration Reform in East Asia
Call Number: K2400 .D4253 2018
This comparative study examines how arbitration law and practice have been reformed in 12 Asia-Pacific jurisdictions and asks whether these reforms can collectively serve as a model of arbitration modernization that is distinct from the Western model.
French Arbitration Law and Practice: A Dynamic Civil Law Approach to International Arbitration (2d ed.)
Call Number: KJV4000 .D45 2009
This new edition of the standard English-language guide to French arbitration law emphasizes the extent to which rules and practices developed in international arbitration have taken hold in French domestic arbitration and vice versa. The annex includes English translations of relevant French legislation and an extensive bibliography.
International Arbitration: Law & Practice in Switzerland
Call Number: KKW1829 .I583 2015
This book covers all essential aspects of international commercial arbitration and arbitration-related court proceedings in Switzerland from a transnational perspective, emphasizing comparisons with practices other jurisdictions.
International Commercial Arbitration in Sweden (2nd ed.)
Call Number: KKV1829 .H63 2021 Electronic
This guide offers in-depth analysis of the principles, rules, and practice of international commercial arbitration in Sweden, which continues to be a leading venue for resolving transnational commercial disputes involving parties from the Russian Federation, other Eastern European countries, and China.
International Commercial Disputes: Commercial Conflict of Laws in English Courts (4th ed.)
Call Number: KD685.C65 H55 2010
The fourth edition of this guide covers choice of law questions that arise in transnational commercial disputes, the international aspects of insolvency, the powers of English courts to supervise an arbitration, the effect of an arbitration agreement on the jurisdiction of the English courts, the law which governs an arbitration agreement, and the recognition and enforcement of foreign arbitral awards.
An Introduction to Arbitration in Africa: A Review of Key Jurisdictions
Call Number: KQC500 .M55 2016
This survey of commercial arbitration in 30 African jurisdictions covers applicable legislation, procedural rules, arbitral institutions and practices, and the mechanisms available for judicial enforcement.
Recognition and Enforcement of International Commercial Arbitral Awards in Latin America
Call Number: KG115 .R43 2015
Each chapter chapter in this regional survey focuses on a single Latin American jurisdiction, providing excerpts of leading cases, analyses of relevant laws, and descriptions of local practice with respect to the recognition and enforcement of foreign arbitral awards.

U.S. Law & Practice in Int'l Commercial Arbitration

Domke on Commercial Arbitration
This Westlaw treatise focuses primarily on arbitration practices in the U.S., but it also includes chapters on the enforcement of arbitration agreements in international transactions, the enforcement of foreign arbitral awards in U.S. courts, and the enforcement of American arbitral awards in foreign courts.

International Commercial Arbitration: A Guide for U.S. Judges
Published by the Federal Judicial Center, this practical guide explains the differences between U.S. domestic arbitration and international commercial arbitration. It also discusses the role of the federal courts in resolving disputes involving international commercial arbitration.

Restatement of the Law, The U.S. Law of International Commercial and Investor-State Arbitration.
In 2023, the American Law Institute published this authoritative summary of the general principles of international commercial and investor-state arbitration law as they are applied in the U.S. The full text of the Restatement is available on HeinOnline, Lexis, and Westlaw.

Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards and Judgments in New York
Call Number: KFN6094 .F75 2018 Electronic
Provides practical guidance to attorneys seeking to enforce foreign arbitral awards and judgments in the State of New York, whose laws govern govern a disproportionate share of cross-border commercial disputes.
International Arbitration in the United States
Call Number: KF9085 .I58 2018 Electronic
Provides a comprehensive overview of U.S. arbitration law and practice, including the default forum under federal law, as well as the array of options under state law to which parties may agree. Also covered: arbitral institutions and their rules, ethical considerations, costs and fees, provisional measures, and confidentiality, plus specialized chapters on arbitrations involving class actions, securities, construction, insurance, and intellectual property.
International Commercial Arbitration in New York
Call Number: K2400 .I59243 2016
Offers practical advice from experienced practitioners on how to draft clauses designating New York as the venue for arbitration, how to select New York-based arbitrators, and how to use the New York courts to enforce an arbitration agreement or to enforce or challenge an arbitral award.