If you are new to international commercial arbitration, or are unfamiliar with a particular aspect of it, start your research with a secondary source. In addition to providing background information, analysis, and commentary, secondary sources will help you to identify relevant primary materials, such as treaties, national legislation, and arbitral decisions.
In the columns below, you will find a selection of treatises and practices guides on international commercial arbitration. A treatise is a scholarly work that provides comprehensive analysis of a single, broad subject. Practice guides are similar to treatises, but are written from a practitioner's perspective. For additional resources, visit the sub-pages on specialized secondary sources and regional and jurisdiction-specific secondary sources.
Arbitration of International Business Disputes, 2nd ed.
Handbook of ICC Arbitration: Commentary & Materials, 4th ed.
Handbook of UNCITRAL Arbitration, 3rd ed.
International Commercial Arbitration (2d ed.) by 
International Commercial Arbitration and Mediation in UNCITRAL Model Law Jurisdictions, 4th ed.
Practitioner's Handbook on International Commercial Arbitration, 2nd ed.
Handbook of Evidence in International Commercial Arbitration: Key Concepts and Issues
Redfern and Hunter on International Arbitration (6th ed.)International Commercial Arbitration (3rd ed.) by Domke on Commercial Arbitration
This Westlaw treatise covers all aspects of commercial arbitration, both domestic and international. The appendices include the texts of relevant treaties, national laws, arbitration rules of selected arbitral institutions, and codes of ethics. Updated biannually.
International Arbitration 2022
This annual survey, published by the Practising Law Institute (PLI), features practitioner-written articles and instructional materials on current trends and hot topics in international commercial arbitration. Some of the materials focus on the rules of a particular arbitral institution or on practices in a specific country or region.
International Commercial Arbitration
This Westlaw treatise provides a comprehensive overview of the international commercial arbitration process. The appendix includes model clauses for drafting customized arbitration agreements.
International Commercial Arbitration Practice: 21st Century Perspectives
Part I examines how arbitrations are conducted in common law, civil law, and sharia law systems. Part II discusses how arbitration practices vary by region, while Part III focuses on different approaches to arbitration within specific industries. Part IV discusses recent trends, and Part V examines the impact of technological changes.
Procedure and Evidence in International ArbitrationRedfern and Hunter on International Arbitration (6th ed.)