Source Collection Information for Journal Staff

A manual to assist Journal Staff with starting a source collection assignment.

Contents

Key to Icons

  • Georgetown only
  • On Westlaw
  • On Lexis
  • On Bloomberg
  • PDF
  • More Info (hover)
  • Preeminent Treatise
  • Study Aid

Law Library Shelves for Journals

How to Use
  • Bring a Law Library book to the Circulation Desk & ask to have it checked out to your Journal Shelf. Each journal is provided library shelves in the Law Library (4th Floor West).
  • Contact the Circulation Desk, at lawcirc@georgetown.edu or 202-662-9131, for more information.
When to Use
  • If your editor does not let you check out Law Library books under your own library account.
  • To consolidate Law Library books in one location.
Advantage
  • No daily late fines, recall fines, replacement fines.
  • Books are checked out to the shelves till end of semester.
  • Other journal staff has access to same material for source collection.
But
  • Books cannot leave library. Books cannot be taken to your journal office.
  • Recalled books will be pulled off the shelf by a library staff.
  • Shelves cannot be used to house books from other libraries.

Law Library Hold for Pickup Service

How to Use
  • Submit a Place hold for pickup for an “available” Stacks book found through the Law Library catalog.
  • Contact the Circulation Desk, at lawcirc@georgetown.edu or 202-662-9131, for more information. Emailed requests are not accepted however.
When to Use
  • When a circulating book has an "available" status in the Law Library catalog.
Advantage
  • A convenient service should you not have time to pull books off shelves yourself.
  • Paged or pulled Law Library books are held at the Circulation Desk, for about seven days, and can also be checked out to your journal library shelf account, instead of you, upon request at the desk.
But
  • Place hold for pickup service cannot accommodate urgent retrieval requests.
  • Does not include any type of scanning service.

Local Academic Loan Service (including Loans from Main Campus)

How to Use
  • Submit a Request from a local academic library for an “available” book found through the Law Library search box for Georgetown U. + Local Academic Libraries.
  • Contact the Circulation Desk, at lawcirc@georgetown.edu or 202-662-9131, for more information. Emailed requests are not accepted however.
When to Use
  • When a book is available at main campus, Off-Campus Shelving or other local academic (non-law) libraries (e.g. American U., Geo. Wash. U., Catholic U., etc.) and if your editor permits or instructs you to borrow books under your own library account. If not, use Interlibrary Loan.
  • For chapter scanning service, if you have an unambiguous citation (i.e. known start & end pages), or copying order is straightforward and uncomplicated. If copying citation is complicated or requires some verification, then use Interlibrary Loan.
Advantages
  • Books routed to the Law Library from other campuses.
  • Copy service available for book chapters (within copyrights) and articles in print journals.
  • For more immediate needs, you may visit GU main and other non-law academic libraries to check out a book on-site. Note: Local academic law libraries are excluded from this service.
But
  • No journal proxy accounts.
  • Non-Georgetown licensed ebooks cannot be borrowed via local academic loan services (nor ILL).
  • Microfilm lending and scanning are not included in service. Use Interlibrary Loan service instead.
  • Daily late fines, recall fines, etc. will apply to you, not your journal. Fines may have to be paid at the owning institution.
  • Some problems (i.e., incorrect book, poor scanning, etc.) and fines can only be resolved with the owning institution’s circulation desk. (Law Library's Circulation nor ILL Services cannot resolve such matters.)
  • Local law libraries do not participate in local loan service. Use ILL service for loans or copies of materials held exclusively by local law libraries.
  • Your request will only be sent to local libraries. It will not be sent to libraries outside local loan service area. Use Interlibrary Loan instead.

Law Library Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service

How to Use
  • Requests are made through the Law Library's ILLiad system.
  • Interlibrary Loan Instructions for Journal Staff.
  • Contact ILL, law-ill@georgetown.edu, for any questions about the service and how the service can assist in your journal’s source collection process and workflow. Emailed requests are not accepted.
When to Use
  • For any book, report, microfilm, etc. that is not owned by or physically available in the Law Library, or local academic libraries. Though this excludes titles that are held in Reference or Reserves (e.g. Reading Room and Course Reserves), it does include items whose statuses are checked out, missing or lost.
  • For a copy of (1) an article from a journal, magazine, or newspaper that is not available in print or microformat at the Law Library or accessible electronically through a subscription or (2) pages, section(s) or chapter(s) within a book, reporter, encyclopedia, casebook, dictionary etc. that is not available at or accessible through the Law Library, including those titles that are checked out, lost, missing, etc.
  • This is the default service to use if you are instructed by your editor to borrow or obtain materials, found in other libraries, under your journal's name.
  • You may use your own ILLiad account if permitted by your editor.
Advantages
  • No daily late fines.
  • Recall/ replacement fines paid by your journal.
  • Proxy accounts for journal offices.
  • Citation verification part of ILL processing so service can accommodate requests for poor or scant citations.
  • Local academic law libraries will lend books and provide scans only through Interlibrary Loan.
But
  • Loan period may be shorter than borrowing from a local academic library.
  • One renewal only, if even allowed by lending library. Renewal period can be shorter than initial loan period.
  • Turnaround for books from libraries outside of local area is 5-7 working days. ILL requests are not submitted to any local-loan participating libraries.
  • Ebooks cannot be borrowed in their entirety through ILL. Only physical books will be loaned by ILL libraries.

Law Library Group Trainings & Individual Research Consultations

Contact your Journal Liaison if your journal would like a customized training on source collection, pre-emption checking, general orientation to journal-specific library services, etc.

Schedule a research consultation with a reference librarian if you would like help with a subject-specific research strategy.

Law Library Data & Web Preservation

Contact Empirical Research Services Librarian, Sara Burriesci, if you need assistance with preserving data associated with an article. The Law Library’s Dataverse project provides permanent access and formal citation to the saved data.

Perma.cc can generate permanent links and cache a web’s content. The Law Library's can provide a journal office with an account associated with the library’s membership. General information and instructions may be found on the Journal Staff Guide's Perma.cc Instructions. Please contact Reference Services if you need more assistance.