Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Source Collection Information for Journal Staff

A manual to assist a Journal Staff start a source collection assignment.

Finding Cited Books

The methods by which you can search for cited books depends on how your editor wants you to borrow books.

Borrowing Books Under Your Own Name

Law Library Catalog's Advanced Search
  1. Go to Advanced Search of the Law Library's Catalog.
  2. Select Georgetown U. + Local Academic Libraries to search for Any field: Title.
  3. Sign into the catalog with your GULC NetID and Password (DUO Authentication may also be required.)
  4. If there is an available copy at the Law Library, then submit a Hold for Pickupto have the book retrieved for you and held at the Circulation Desk. Hold for pick up requests usually takes one to two business days and is overseen by the Circulation Desk.
  5. If there is an available copy at one of the main academic libraries (excluding law libraries), then submit a Request from a Local Academic Library.
  6. If there is no match with a catalog search, or if copies are available only other local law libraries, then you may submit a Request book, chapter, or article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) which will lead you ILLiad where you can log in with your registration credentials. If you separately access ILLiad, outside of a catalog search, then select Loan Request ILLiad form.

Check Filling Out the ILLiad Loan Request Form in the Interlibrary Loan Instructions for Journal Staff guide for more information.

Check the ILL FAQs for Journal Staff within the Interlibrary Loan Instructions for Journal Staff guide to learn about ILL turnaround times, who receives the ILL notifications for the methods, where the borrowed ILL item is held, and other policies.

Borrowing Books Under Your Journal's Name

FirstSearch (OCLC) or WorldCat.org
  1. Search for the book title in FirstSearch (OCLC) or WorldCat.org.
  2. If the Law Library owns the title, the search results will show a green "Georgetown Law Library" icon. If a green icon is present, then in the FirstSearch or WorldCat record, click on Connect to the catalog at Georgetown Law Library and perform a search for the book title
  3. If a green "Georgetown Law Library" icon does not appear, then click on Click here to request via ILL and log into your Journal's ILLiad account (credentials will be provided to you by your editor if there is one).

Check Filling Out the ILLiad Loan Request Form in the Interlibrary Loan Instructions for Journal Staff guide for more information.

Check ILL FAQs for Journal Staff within the Interlibrary Loan Instructions for Journal Staff guide to learn about ILL turnaround times, who receives the ILL notifications for the methods, where the borrowed ILL item is held, and other policies.

Do You Need the Whole Book, or a Chapter, a Section or a Few Pages?

If you need pages from a larger piece of work that is not physically available at the Law Library or fully accessible through databases or open access resources, e.g. Internet Archive, then submit an Interlibrary Loan request. Include into the request form the pages that you need. Check Requesting a Copy of Pages Out of a Book, Reporter, etc in the Interlibrary Loan Instructions for Journal Staff guide for details on how to fill out the form.

However, this ILL service is restricted by fair use on how much content we can ask ILL libraries to scan for you. If in this ILL service's assessment your request infringes on fair use for that particular publication, we will opt to borrowing the entire book instead.

Check Also...

But Wait! Is The Book Even Real?

Unfortunately, AI generated works are known to invent and cite not only to "hallucinated" cases, but also non-existing articles and books.  The consequences of including citations to fabricated books in your journal's published articles are as serious as citing to fake cases in a brief and will have long-ranging impacts.

If by following the described methodologies in Finding Cited Books you did not find an exact matching bibliographic record, then there may be a chance that the citation does not reflect an actual published book.

Please use the "Is the Book Even Real?" Checklist before submitting an ILL service request for such a questionable citation.

"Is the Book Even Real?" Checklist:

FirstSearch (OCLC) or WorldCat.org.

  • Though listed as a step in Finding Cited Books, the database is worth repeating in this checklist because books published through well-established, reputable publishing houses, that have gone through a peer-review or editorial process, would have been cataloged into this database.
  • FirstSearch / WorldCat.org records are only created with physical or visual evidence of the actual and entire work.
  • Check your citation against the official bibliographic record to see that all information matches: full title, author(s) or editor(s), publication date, edition and publisher.

ISBN.org

  • All books published through well-established, reputable publishing services would have been assigned an International Standard Book Number (ISBN), a 10- or 13-digit number that uniquely identifies the particular title and edition.
  • Some self-published works could have ISBNs assigned to them. However, if there is no FirstSearch(OCLC) or WorldCat record for a self-published work, then there are no ILL libraries that carry a copy. Therefore, there will be no ILL option to borrow, or obtain a scan from, the book.

Google Books, Internet Archive and HathiTrust

  • Though not as extensive in their bibliographic records as would be found in FirstSearch (OCLC) or  WorldCat.org, search results will include those books that the respective entity has digitized.

Amazon.com's Kindle Direct Publishing and other self-publishing services

  • The majority of self-published works will not appear in FirstSearch(OCLC), WorldCat.org, Google Books, Internet Archive and HathiTrust databases so you will have to search on the self-publishing services' websites.
  • If there is no WorldCat record for a self-published work, then there are no ILL libraries that carry a copy. Therefore, there will be no ILL option to borrow, or obtain a scan from, the book.

Book Sellers' and Publishers' Websites

  • Recent publications or stocked titles can usually be found on vendors' or publishers' websites.
  • If a citation to what should be a recently published book does not appear in any book sellers' or publishers' websites, then the citation is probably fake.

Professional Profiles Webpages

  • Some scholarly authors have professional profile webpages or lists of published works in their publicly viewable CVs. Compare what appears there against your citation.
  • Please note that there are varying degrees of currency and citation accuracy and details found on profile pages and CVs. Use such resources with discretion.

Law Library Reference Services

  • Ask for help if you have searched in several resources but are not able to find exact matches to your citation.

Need More Help?

Ask for assistance from Reference Services or your Journal Liaison.

Need Help Submitting an ILL Request?

If you're unsure how best to fill out an ILLiad form, please contact ILL Services at law-ill@georgetown.edu.