Administrative Office of the Courts - Statistics & ReportsStatistical data and analysis on the business of the federal Judiciary including appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts, probation and pretrial services systems, and other components of U.S. courts
Civil Rights Litigation ClearinghouseThousands of civil rights cases have been filed over the past fifty years and new cases are filed all the time; hundreds, old and new, are ongoing and remain influential. But information about the cases has always been hard to come by. Only a small number of the cases have ever been the subject of published judicial opinions. The Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse provides the information needed to understand particular cases and the category as a whole. The site focuses on injunctive litigation—that is, on cases seeking policy or operational change—and on class actions.
Court Listener APIs and Bulk Legal DataCourtListener is a free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts. With CourtListener, lawyers, journalists, academics, and the public can research an important case, stay up to date with new opinions as they are filed, or do deep analysis using our raw data. The data on CourtListener is a combination of many partial sources such as court websites, Public.Resource.Org, and a donation from Lawbox LLC.
Court Statistics ProjectPublishes caseload data from the courts of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico
Federal Judicial Center ResearchAlthough this isn't a source for the collection of primary statistics and data, it is an excellent source to find research and examples of how people are using court/judicial statistics asa part of research in the judicial branch.
Florida-UCLA-LoPucki Bankruptcy Research DatabaseThe Bankruptcy Research Database (BRD) contains data on all large, public company bankruptcy cases filed in the United States Bankruptcy Courts from October 1, 1979 to the most recent update of this database. A case is "large" if debtor reported assets or more than $100 million (measured in 1980 dollars) on the last form 10-K that the debtor filed with the Securities Exchange Commission before filing the bankruptcy case. A company is "public" if the company filed a form 10-K with the Securities Exchange Commission in the three years prior to bankruptcy. A "case" includes all cases filed by or against members of the 10-K filing company's corporate group provided that those cases are consolidated by the bankruptcy court for the purpose of administration. Thus, a single "case" for the purpose of the WebBRD may be reported by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts as dozens or hundreds of cases.
SCOTUSblog: StatisticsSCOTUSblog compiles statistics on dispositions by sitting, majority opinions authored by sitting, pace of grants, pace of decisions, and other variables..
Securities Class Action ClearinghouseStanford Law School has partnered with Cornerstone Research to provide this archive of securities class action lawsuits filed since passage of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. The database contains copies of complaints, briefs, dispositive orders, and other litigation-related materials filed in these cases, as well as detailed information relating to the prosecution, defense, and settlement of federal class action securities fraud litigation.
Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing StatisticsThis Sourcebook contains descriptive statistics on the application of the federal sentencing guidelines and provides selected district, circuit, and national sentencing data. The current volume covers fiscal year 2018 (October 1, 2017, through September 30, 2018, hereinafter “2018”). This Sourcebook, together with the 2018 Annual Report, constitutes the annual report referenced in 28 U.S.C. § 997.
Supreme Court: The StatisticsEach year, the Harvard Law Review publishes a series of tables summarizing numerical trends from the Court’s most recent Term.
Supreme Court DatabaseHosted by Washington University, St. Louis, this website allows users to download datasets for over 200 different variable regarding U.S. Supreme Court decisions between the court terms of 1953 - last year (present year being updated).
