Table of Contents
In addition to the multilateral trading system administered by the WTO, many regional and bilateral trade agreements are currently in force. Use the resources described below to access the full texts of regional and bilateral trade agreements. Use the links in the Table of Contents above for information about mega-regional trade agreements (CPTTP and T-TIP) and for information about regional and bilateral trade agreements to which the U.S. is a party.
Full Texts of Regional and Bilateral Trade Agreements
- Trade Law Guide
This subscription database currently provides access to the full texts of regional and bilateral free trade agreements that have entered into force since January 1, 2015, in their original language(s). Agreements that entered into force prior to that date will be added to the database gradually over time, in reverse chronological order. To view this content, click on the button labeled "Regional Agreements" on the dark grey menu bar near the top of the homepage.
- After the page refreshes, scroll down to view an alphabetical directory of regional and bilateral trade agreements.
- The directory may be searched or filtered by the name of the agreement or by country.
- Select "Full Text RTA Search" to search by keyword across the full texts of regional and bilateral trade agreements.
- Use the "Compare RTA Texts" tool to compare the texts of two agreements side-by-side.
- Foreign Trade Information System (Spanish acronym SICE)
This free website, maintained by the Organization of American States (OAS), is a reliable source of information about regional and bilateral trade agreements for countries in the Western Hemisphere. Trade agreements currently in force are grouped by category (customs unions, free trade agreements, trade framework agreements, and preferential trading agreements). Use the menu on the right side of the screen to browse for agreements by country. Visit the Trade Policy Developments page for a list of trade agreements that have been signed but not yet entered into force and for a list of trade agreements currently under negotiation.
- UNCTAD Investment Agreements Navigator
The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) maintains this free database. Although the primary focus is on bilateral investment treaties (BITs), the database also includes other treaties with provisions that govern foreign investment. These include some free trade agreements (FTAs) as well as other, less formal "framework agreements" that facilitate cooperation on trade and investment. The database may be browsed chronologically, by economy (country name), and by region. Use the Advanced Search to apply multiple filters.
