The non-governmental organizations listed below publish credible research about international trade policy, much of which is freely accessible on their respective websites. Bear in mind that some of these NGOs engage in issue advocacy and have a distinct point of view about trade issues.
- CATO Institute's Center for Trade Policy
This Washington-based think tank is among the most vocal advocates in favor of free trade. Most case studies, articles, and commentary are freely accessible on the website.
- Convention on the International Sale of Goods (CISG) Case Law Database
Pace Law School maintains this searchable database of cases from multiple jurisdictions that interpret and apply the CISG. It includes more than 10,000 case abstracts (summaries) and more than 3,000 full-text opinions.
- First-time users must register and create a free account. Users must be logged in to download content.
- The search template for case law recognizes Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT). Searches may be limited by jurisdiction and/or by CISG article number.
- The annotated texts of CISG articles provide convenient links to relevant legislative (drafting) history documents, as well as links to secondary sources that explain and interpret each article.
- International Centre for Trade and Sustainable Development (ICTSD)
This Swiss non-profit is an excellent source for scholarship on promoting sustainable development in the formulation of trade policy. Click on the Research tab to access publications, most of which are freely available for download.
- Legal Information Institute (LII)
LLI, with the support of Cornell Law School, provides free access to reliable legal information on a variety of subjects, including international trade law. You will find convenient links to relevant U.S. trade legislation, treaties, and government agency websites.
- Kozolchyk National Law Center
This non-profit research and educational institution, affiliated with the University of Arizona College of Law, promotes economic development and poverty reduction through trade and commercial and regulatory reform. Project Areas focus on empowering micro enterprises and small businesses in developing countries to adopt best practices for trade, to access credit, and to utilize alternative methods of dispute resolution. The Center's reports are free for download, but its online database of national law is only accessible by subscription.
- Peterson Institute for International Economics (PIIE)
This non-partisan public policy organization focuses on finding ways to make globalization more equitable and sustainable. Most of its policy briefs and working papers are freely available for download. Browse for content by topic, including Trade & Investment. Alternatively, browse by publication, including working papers and policy briefs.
