The Georgetown Law Library provides access to multiple subscription databases which focus exclusively on international trade issues or which include substantial amounts of trade-related content. They are described below.
U.S. Law & Practice on International Trade
- International Trade Practice Center (Bloomberg Law)
Provides quick links to U.S. statutes and regulations that govern international trade; decisions issued by the U.S. Court of International Trade, the U.S. International Trade Commission, and by the Federal Circuit on trade-related matters; secondary sources on U.S. trade law and practice; practitioner guidance on import and export controls; and trade-related news.
- U.S. International Trade Library (HeinOnline)
This HeinOnline database includes relevant sections of the U.S. Code and the Code of Federal Regulations that govern international trade; compiled legislative histories of major trade-related legislation; transcripts of U.S. congressional hearings on trade-related issues; reports published by the Congressional Research Service on trade-related matters; and selected scholarly articles.
WTO Dispute Settlement Case Law
- TradeLawGuide
Use the Subject Navigator to search or browse for WTO panel and Appellate Body reports by topic. Use the Article Citator to determine how WTO tribunals have interpreted specific provisions of WTO agreements. Use the Jurisprudence Navigator to determine whether a prior panel or Appellate Body decision has been cited by tribunals in subsequent cases. To access video tutorials that will show you how to use these powerful tools, click on the Learning Centre link at the top of the homepage.
- WorldTradeLaw.net
Provides detailed summaries of WTO panel and Appellate Body reports along with commentary. Each summary provides a synopsis of the panel's or Appellate Body's legal findings and conclusions, a timeline, references to other reports and materials, and expert analysis on many of the key issues in the report. The full texts of panel and Appellate Body reports also are available.
Trade-Related News and Current Awareness
- Borderlex
This specialized news source reports on developments in international trade and investment policy in Europe and beyond, with a particular emphasis on the EU, the UK, and the WTO. It also covers many trade-related topics (climate change, digital regulation, and industrial subsidies) that have wider policy implications. In addition to news stories, Borderlex also publishes informed commentary by experts in the field of trade policy.
- China Trade Extra
Brings you the latest news on U.S.-China trade relations, China's participation in the World Trade Organization, and its role in the development of international trade law. This is a sister publication of World Trade Online's Inside U.S. Trade weekly newsletter. (See World Trade Online below.)
- International Trade News (Bloomberg Law)
This electronic news source monitors developments in international trade law and policy worldwide and is updated every weekday. Only the most recent trade news articles are displayed on the landing page. To view all trade news articles, click on the "View and Filter All Stories" link in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. Use the filters on the left to narrow by date, by topic, and by other criteria. Use the search box at the top of the page to search all trade news content by keyword.
- World Trade Online
This electronic news service includes all content published in the weekly Inside U.S. Trade newsletter from 1993-present, plus trade-related news from around the world, and special reports. Use the menu bar at the top to browse by topic. Or search by keyword. Inside U.S. Trade is also available in print.
Public Policy Research
- Policy File Index: Public Policy Research and Analysis
This ProQuest database includes abstracts of foreign and domestic policy papers published by think tanks and university research centers (primarily, but not exclusively, ones that are based in the U.S.). In most cases, links are provided to the full-text documents. Coverage is from 1990-present. For optimal searching, use the Advanced Search template (link above the basic search box).
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
This database serves as a gateway for working papers and scholarly articles published by university research institutes, think tanks, and NGOs, as well as conference proceedings. It also provides access to selected journal articles and book excerpts. Coverage: 1991-present.
