Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

International and Foreign Cyberspace Law Research Guide

This guide covers resources on cyberspace law where issues encompass the Internet, cybercrime, privacy and ecommerce. Cyberspace law can incorporate aspects of comparative, international and foreign law

The EU's Digital Single Market & Digital Strategy

The European Union's Digital Single Market Strategy consists of a series of initiatives intended to promote e-commerce and the digital economy through the harmonization of national laws and the development of uniform technical standards to facilitate interoperability.  The EU's EUR-Lex database includes a comprehensive directory of EU legislation on the Digital Single Market.  For information about the EU's digital future, visit the European Commission's Digital Strategy webpage.
 

Selected EU Legislation on the Digital Single Market

Listed below are some of the key pieces of EU legislation related to the Digital Single Market and Digital Strategy have been enacted to date.

Explanatory Notes on EU Legislation

For those unfamiliar with the different types of EU legislation, the following definitions are provided:

  • A Regulation is a binding legislative act of general application that must be complied with upon entry into force by each member state.  It supersedes any conflicting national laws.
     
  • A Directive is binding legislative act of general application that establishes a goal or objective.  Member states must enact legislation to implement a directive by a specified date, a process known as "transposition."
     

EU Case Law

EU courts are generating a growing body of case law involving legislation related to the Digital Single Market.  To search by keyword for EU case law, use the Advanced Search on the EUR-Lex database and select "Case-Law" from the Collection menu in the center of the search form to limit the search to cases.  Searchable databases of EU case law also are available on Lexis and Westlaw.

Secondary Sources on the EU's Digital Single Market