International and Foreign Cyberspace Law Research Guide

Tax practitioners with in-depth knowledge of their respective jurisdictions share their insights on recent developments in e-business taxation. Coverage includes major countries in North America, Europe, the Middle East and Africa, Latin America, and Asia, as well as select offshore jurisdictions.

Internet Taxation and E-Retailing Law in the Global Context provides emerging research on the methods and approaches to determining the appropriate tax policies for e-retailers within the global framework. While highlighting topics such as cross-border taxation, digital economy, and online management, this publication explores the developing avenues of online financial analysis and taxation.

This volume analyzes the practical tax consequences of e-commerce from a multi-jurisdictional perspective, using concrete examples to illustrate the application of different taxes to e-commerce transactions.

The question of how to tax multinational companies that operate highly digitalised business models is one of the most contested areas of international taxation. In this work, the author explains the problems with the existing international tax system and its inability to respond to challenges posed by digitalised companies

This book describes the VAT compliance rules for the supply of electronic services in Europe in a coherent and comprehensive single volume guide.

This collection of essays examines the clash between copyright law, which has continued to broaden its scope in the digital era, and fundamental rights, such as the right to privacy and academic freedom.

Written by leading practitioners, this book offers practical guidance in dealing with many of the online challenges confronting businesses: trademark infringement, anti-competitive behavior, and hijacking by cyber-squatters, phishers and scammers.

The author analyzes the negotiation and implementation of the IP treaties administered by WIPO from the perspective of three countries: the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. He concludes that smaller countries have retained limited discretion to set their own course on copyright legislation. He also speculates that growing public awareness of copyright issues eventually may lead the U.S. to reconsider its longstanding support for increasing the scope and duration of copyright protections.

This book compares how copyright, trademark, and patent law protections are applied to online content and digital commerce in 19 major jurisdictions worldwide.

This book offers a critical analysis of the E.U.’s regulatory framework for mobile payments and emerging digital currencies, such as Bitcoin. Chapters discuss the creation of the E.U. single market for e-payments and combine legal analysis with comparative case studies in their exploration of the regulatory challenges surrounding e-payments.

This book examines how cryptocurrencies based on blockchain technologies fit into existing general law categories of public and private law. The book takes the common law systems of the United Kingdom as the centre of its study but extends beyond the UK to show how cryptocurrencies would be accommodated in some Western European and East Asian legal systems outside the common law tradition.

This fully updated and revised second edition provides a practical examination of the opportunities and challenges presented by the rapid development of FinTech in recent years, particularly for regulators, who must decide how to apply current law to ever-changing concepts driven by continually advancing technologies. It addresses new legislative guidance on the treatment of cryptoassets and smart contracts, the European Commission’s Digital Finance Strategy and FinTech Action Plan, as well as analysing significant recent case law.

As financial technology continues to develop rapidly worldwide, Getting the Deal Through - Fintech provides a timely and comprehensive overview of the latest legislative and regulatory developments affecting this burgeoning industry. Topics covered include: licensing requirements and exemptions; consumer lending regulations; peer-to-peer and marketplace lending; crowdfunding; invoice trading; cloud computing and the internet of things; marketing regulations; foreign exchange and currency control restrictions; intellectual property rights and disputes; open-source software; the anonymisation and aggregation of personal data for commercial gain; available tax incentives to encourage innovation and investment; and anti-money laundering and financial crime prevention requirements. Also available via Georgetown’s Lexology subscription and as a PDF from law firm Simmons & Simmons.

This Handbook analyses developments in the financial services, products and markets that are being reshaped by technologically driven changes with a view to their policy, regulatory, supervisory and other legal implications. The Handbook aims to illustrate the crucial role the law has to play in tackling the revolutionary developments in the financial sector by offering a framework of legally enforceable principles and values in which such innovations might take place without threatening the acquis of financial markets law and more generally the rule of law and basic human rights.

This study examines the use of Online Dispute Resolution (ODR) to resolve disputes arising out of cross-border Internet transactions. It offers a blueprint for combining elements of conventional arbitration and mediation practices with new and potentially transformative technologies and processes.

The authors evaluate the potential of new technology tools to resolve disputes in cyberspace and improve access to justice without recourse to costly litigation. They focus on four fields in which great innovation has been accompanied by a corresponding rise in disputes: e-commerce, healthcare, social media, and employment.

The author describes the circumstances under which the owners of online platforms may be held liable for wrongdoing carried out by third-party users of those platforms, focusing primarily on the doctrines of primary and secondary liability as they are applied in UK and EU law.

The author provides a conceptual framework that serves as a benchmark for evaluating various consumer protection mechanisms intended to enhance access to justice and boost confidence in cross-border online transactions.

The book examines the conflict of laws in the context of resolving disputes that arise out of cross-border consumer contracts It offers a comparative analysis of the U.S. and E.U. approaches, paying particular attention to the most recent development in collective redress and alternative/online dispute resolution.

This book provides a thorough overview of the laws and regulations that govern online commerce, along with the underlying legal theory. It also discusses the many gray areas that continue to emerge in this rapidly evolving field of law, with a particular emphasis on the rise of social media and cloud computing.

This fourth edition of the well-established practitioner text sets out what constitutes an electronic signature, the form an electronic signature can take, and discusses the issues relating to evidence—illustrated by analysis of relevant case law and legislation from a wide range of common law and civil law jurisdictions.