Guides: Health Law Research Guide: Secondary Sources

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Treatises

Food and Drug Law: Federal Regulation of Drugs, Biologics, Medical Devices, Foods, Dietary Supplements, Personal Care, Veterinary and Tobacco Products by Termini, Roseanne
Call Number: KF3869 .T47 2022
This treatise is an introduction to the body of law that govern food, drugs, biological products, medical devices, and cosmetics. Regulation of these products fall under the FDA, Department of Health and Human Services, as well as the Department of Agriculture and Federal Trade Commission.
Fundamentals of Health Law
Call Number: KF3821 .H37
An introduction to the basic issues of health law from the American Health Lawyers Association.
Health Care Law: A Practical Guide by Becker, Scott
A comprehensive analysis and practical guide for handling the many legal issues facing all health care providers in today's dynamic health care environment. Each chapter contains a concise, comprehensive discussion of the law; an analysis of problems likely to be faced by health care providers; and practical guidelines for dealing with those problems. Updated regularly.
Healthcare Law and Ethics in a Nutshell
Call Number: KF3821 Z9 H35
A very basic overview of the field of health care law.
Health Law Practice Guide
AHLA's Health Law Practice Guide is a comprehensive four-volume treatise covering important aspects of health law. The Healthcare Reform Law Supplement is a resource guide about the 2010 healthcare reform legislation.
Legal Aspects of Health Care Administration
Call Number: KF3821 .P69
Although designed primarily as a handbook for healthcare administrators, this work offers lawyers a useful overview of the various areas of law which are important in counseling healthcare administrators, including torts, civil procedure, professional and corporate liability issues, consent, and AIDS. This book can provide lawyers with background on the complexities of health care administration and the responsibilities of healthcare professionals.
Problems in Health Care Law
Call Number: KF3825 .M53 2006
An overview of the health care system covering health care financing, liability, health care resources, and issues surrounding reproduction and death.
Treatise on Health Care Law
Four volume comprehensive, definitive treatise on a range of health care law issues.

News and Current Awareness

These sources are aimed particularly at practicing lawyers who need to have quick access to the current information in a particular area of law. They are released or updated frequently and generally contain primary documents (statutes, regulations, and cases) as well as news, articles, and summaries of recent developments.

Health Law Practice Guide
This four-volume guide by the American Health Lawyer's Association is organized into five categories: operational issues for healthcare facilities, patient care delivery issues, payment issues, transactions, and special legal concerns in the business environment. A useful appendix includes year in review, forms, and a state law chart.
Health Care Law Sourcebook
Federal laws, regulations, and documents relating to health care
Medicaid and Medicare Guide
Medicare and Medicaid Guide "offers comprehensive, full-text reporting of federal Medicare and Medicaid law and regulation provisions and summary reporting of state Medicaid programs. It provides complex reimbursement, prospective payment, eligibility and coverage rules for health care professionals and suppliers of health services, plus federal laws and regulations, manuals, and forms." The guide includes the full text of Provider Reimbursement Manuals, Medicaid state charts, court decisions, and a weekly report summary. Updated daily online.
Health Care and Antitrust Law
Six-volume set that "analyzes the antitrust issues affecting doctors, hospitals, laboratories, long-term care facilities, and most other health care providers. It provides an overview of general antitrust principles and describes how they apply to different health-care industry segments. It also covers the Robinson-Patman and Non-Profit Institutions acts, along with an in-depth discussion of the Sherman Antitrust Act. Volumes 1 and 2 analyze substantive laws, important cases, developments, and proposals. Volumes 3 and 4 compile forms, letters, opinions, and speeches from more than 30 different hard-to-find sources."
Attorney's Medical Deskbook
This three-volume set "provides the necessary medical background for cases involving personal injury, medical malpractice, wrongful death, and workers' compensation."
Health Care Law: A Practical Guide
One-volume guide covering a range of legal issues faced by health care providers.
Health Law & Business News
Bloomberg BNA
American Health Line
Summarizes previous day's news and legislative and regulatory activity related to health care
The Health Lawyer
A bi-monthly publication from the American Bar Association

Other News and Blogs

For more information on finding newspaper articles generally, see our News Research guide.

Health Law Research Guide

Contents

Key to Icons

Treatises

News and Current Awareness

Other News and Blogs