Reports and white papers can be found using multiple access points, including the Libraries' catalogs and databases, as well as Google. Below are a selection of databases that provide access to reports and white papers.
Indexes research and publications from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Each item includes an abstract and, where available, access to the full-text of the report and/or the websites and email addresses of the authoring institution.
For a searchable list of GULL databases, refer to our Databases page.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier provides full-text publications from all academic areas of study, including the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar retrieves links to papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar is different from Google because it searches only databases that have scholarly content. WHEN YOU ARE OFF-CAMPUS AND YOU WANT TO BE ABLE TO ACCESS THE FULL TEXT OF ARTICLES, YOU MUST START FROM A LINK FORMULATED LIKE THE ONE IN THIS RECORD IN ORDER TO BE RECOGNIZED AS A MEMBER OF THE GULC COMMUNITY. Google Scholar also includes patents and patents applications from the USPTO as well as the full text of legal opinions issued by state and federal courts.
HeinOnlineThis link opens in a new windowHeinOnline content is image-based in PDF format and fully searchable. My Hein allows users to save search queries and bookmark their search results after creating a user account. Primary material available are law journals, US Code, CFR, Federal Register, U.S. Statutes at Large, international treaties, session laws, and tax material.
Index to Foreign PeriodicalsThis link opens in a new windowIndex of approximately 470 legal journals published throughout the world. This database covers 1985 to present. To find older articles, use the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals in print (KF8 .I35).
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital archive of core journals in various fields. It contains the entire runs of these journals, from the first volume up to the volumes published a few years ago. Each journal has a "moving wall" of 3-5 years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR. Georgetown has access to all journals in these collections: Arts & Sciences I-VI, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany.
Legal Periodicals and BooksThis link opens in a new windowIndex of approximately 1,000 journals (with some full text); coverage begins in August 1981.
LegalTracThis link opens in a new windowIndex of approximately 1,300 journals; coverage begins in 1980
Oxford JournalsThis link opens in a new windowOxford Journals Online is the web site for the Oxford U. Press journals, most of which the Georgetown University community can access. Georgetown subscribes to the backfiles as well as the more recent years of the journals.
ProQuest CongressionalThis link opens in a new windowHearings 1824-present; Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports 1916-present; House & Senate Documents and Reports 1789-present; Legislative Histories 1969-present; Bills & Laws 1789-present; Miscellaneous Publications 1789-present; Serial Set Maps 1789-2007; Congressional Record 1789-present; Executive Branch Materials 1789-1948; Executive Orders & Presidential Materials 1789-present.
ProQuest Research LibraryThis link opens in a new windowProQuest Research Library includes more than 3,700 titles -- over 2,500 in full text. It features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. This database contains the text of some articles plus FULL TEXT AT GU LAW links out to the articles in other databases.
CheckpointThis link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive and full-text coverage of federal, state, and some international tax materials, including RIA and WG&L tax products.
You may create a user ID for customized features like alerts, folders, and saving documents or searches. Register at the Checkpoint registration page using your Georgetown Law email. IDs expire on July 31 and December 31 each year. Re-registration is required.
WorldCat/FirstSearchThis link opens in a new windowFirstSearch provides access to numerous databases including WorldCat. WorldCat also contains bibliographic records from the catalogs of most of the large libraries in the U.S. plus some foreign countries. You can email WorldCat records to yourself or export them for use with bibliographic software later.
When you see a list of WorldCat results, you will notice that each one says, "See more details for locating this item." Click this link and you will be able to get to a list of libraries that own the item. You can click on "Click here to request via ILL" to request that the item be obtained for you through the Law Library's interlibrary loan processes, using ILLiad software.