As space debris continues to proliferate, and as interest in the commercial exploitation of space resources increases, more laws and regulations governing human activities in outer space are being enacted at the national level. Use the free and subscription-based resources described below to help you identify and access these national laws and regulations.
Free Online Resources
- National Space Law Collection
The UN Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA) maintains this free directory of national legislation and regulations pertaining to the exploration and use of outer space enacted in more than 40 jurisdictions. Links to the full texts of laws are provided, as are links to English translations thereof, if available. Depth of coverage varies by jurisdiction. Updated irregularly.
- Compendium of National Implementing Mechanisms
UNOOSA also maintains this gateway page from which you can access a compendium of national mechanisms enacted to implement standards and guidelines set forth in non-binding UN General Assembly resolutions and other soft law instruments pertaining to outer space. Scroll al the way down to download the compendium and view subsequent updates.
Subscription Databases
- The Foreign Law Guide
This subscription database highlights significant laws on a wide range of subjects enacted in jurisdictions outside the U.S. Begin by selecting "Air and Space Law" from the Laws Subject menu. Then select the jurisdiction. Depending on the jurisdiction, you may find direct links to the full texts of laws online or citations to print sources. Coverage is selective, not comprehensive.
- Global-Regulation
This user-friendly subscription database enables you to search by keyword in English for national laws and regulations enacted in 95 jurisdictions worldwide. For non-English-speaking jurisdictions, machine-generated English translations of laws are provided, along with a link to each law in its original language.
Compilations of National Laws in Print
Space Law
Legal Framework and Basis for the Establishment of Space Cooperation in Asia
Legal Regulation of Private Actors in Outer Space: India's Role
National Regulation of Space Activities
National Space Legislation in Europe
Space Law and Policy in the Post-Soviet States
Space Law in the European Context: National Architecture, Legislation, and Policy in France