Guides: Space Law: The Law of Outer Space: Secondary Sources: Treatises & Books

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Getting Started with Secondary Sources

If you are new to space law, or unfamiliar with a particular aspect thereof, start your research with a secondary source. In addition to providing background information, explanatory analysis, and commentary, secondary sources will help you to identify primary law materials that are relevant to your topic, such as treaties, soft law instruments, and national legislation.

Introductory Resoures on Space Law

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
Call Number: REF KZ1160 .M39 Electronic
The online version of this authoritative encyclopedia includes introductory articles written by many of the world's leading authorities on space law. Begin by selecting "Air Law and Law of Outer Space" as the subject from the purple navigation bar. Then use the subject filters on the left to narrow. Or enter one or more keywords in the "search within" box.
Global Space Governance: An International Study
Call Number: KZD1145 .G56 2017
This interdisciplinary study offers a comprehensive overview of the evolution and development of the system of space law governance, including relevant treaties, IGOs, and NGOs. It also identifies shortcomings in the current regulatory regime and examines potential improvements and alternatives.
Handbook of Space Law
Call Number: KZD1145 .H36 2015 Electronic
In addition to introducing readers to the legal and regulatory frameworks that govern activities in space, this handbook addresses the dichotomy between the historically state-centric approach to international space law and the increasing role of private entities in the development and exploitation of space resources.
International Space Law
Call Number: KZD1145 .I58 2018 Electronic
This research review includes an introductory essay on the legal rules applicable to space activities and their terrestrial applications. It is followed by a bibliography of leading journal articles, which address the character and structure of international space law; its relationship with national space law; and the military and commercial aspects of space activities, including launching and satellite applications.
Routledge Handbook of Space Law
Call Number: KZD1145 .R68 2017
This handbook takes a topical approach, examining how space-related activities are governed by international treaties, soft law instruments, and national regulations. In doing so, it highlights gaps and inconsistencies in the existing law and emerging legal issues.
Space Law: A Treatise, 2nd ed.
Call Number: KZD1145 .L93 2018
This treatise provides a comprehensive overview of the development and evolution of space law, its role in safeguarding celestial bodies, and its use in regulating telecommunications satellites and other established human activities in space. The authors also survey a broad range of emerging issues, including planetary defense against asteroids, the military use of space, the commercial exploitation of space resources, space tourism, and the environmental impact of space activities.
Space Law
Call Number: KZD1145 .H63 2019 Electronic
Written by the Director of the Institute for Space Law at the University of Cologne, this treatise begins with a brief overview of the physics, mechanics, and history of space flight, which provides helpful context for those without an engineering background. The author goes on to trace the emergence of space law as a separate discipline and to describe the international and national legal regimes that govern activities in space, before addressing the challenges posed by emerging issues, such as space tourism and space mining.

How to Find Books About Space Law

To locate books about the law of outer space in the Georgetown Law Library's collection, use the library's Advanced Search interface and select Law Library Catalog.

Enter space law in the first line and select subject as the search field. If desired, enter additional search terms below. For a broader search, use the default any field. For a narrower search, select title as the search field. For example: