The resources described below will help you identify and/or retrieve national laws pertaining to data security and online privacy.
- Bloomberg Law: Privacy & Data Security Practice Center
- Subject Portfolios
Each portfolio provides practical guidance and insights on a particular aspect of privacy and data security. Citations to relevant national laws and regulations for the U.S. and for select foreign jurisdictions are included. For some jurisdictions, links to the full texts also are provided.
- Country Profiles -- Each jurisdiction-specific profile includes:
- Summaries of privacy and data security laws and regulations, along with citations. Links to the full texts of primary legal materials usually are provided, sometimes in the language of the jurisdiction and sometimes in English translation.
- Profiles of national regulatory authorities.
- A overview of the enforcement environment and risk factors.
- A discussion of emerging issues and the outlook for future developments.
- Practitioner Tools
- Chart Builders - Quickly compare the legal and regulatory regimes governing data security and workplace privacy across multiple jurisdictions.
- EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) Trackers
- GDPR National Implementing Legislation
Access the full texts of measures enacted by EU member states to implement and comply with the GDPR. Most laws are in the language of the jurisdiction, but some English translations are provided.
- GDPR Interpretation & Regulatory Guidance
Access interpretations and regulatory guidance issued by the national data protection authority in each EU member state. Most content is in the language of the jurisdiction, but some English translations are provided.
- Cheetah: Cybersecurity & Privacy (Wolters Kluwer)
Select Cybersecurity & Privacy form the Practice Areas menu. Although Cheetah focuses primarily on U.S data privacy law, it also has good coverage of the EU and other foreign jurisdictions:
- Global Treatises & Practice Guides
- EU General Data Protection Directive (GDPR) Resources
Use the menu under the heading CCPA and UE/GDPR Resources in the center of the homepage to access EU regulations and directives (arranged chronologically by year of enactment), opinions issued by the European Data Protection Board, and a directory of national data protection authorities.
- Global Privacy & Data Security Law Smart Chart Builder
Quickly compare laws and regulations that govern various aspects of privacy and data protection in 69 jurisdictions worldwide. For each jurisdiction selected, a link is provided to a secondary source for more detailed information.
- Council of Europe's Directory of National Data Protection Laws
This free resource covers all 47 countries that are members of the Council of Europe, as well as 18 non-European countries. For each jurisdiction, you will find a direct to link the full text of its national data protection law, usually in English translation rather than the original language. In addition, you will find citations to constitutional provisions that protect the right to privacy, as well as links to the jurisdiction's national data protection authority.
- The Foreign Law Guide
Use this subscription database to identify primary law sources for jurisdictions outside the U.S. From the homepage, scroll down and click on the tab labeled "Laws by Subject." Select "Cybercrime, Data Protection, Information & Internet" from alphabetical list of subjects. Then select the desired jurisdiction and scroll down for laws related to data protection. In some cases, you will find a direct link to an electronic version of a law. In other cases, only a citation to a print source is provided. Ask a librarian for assistance in locating print sources.
- Getting the Deal Through (GTDT)
This multi-jurisdictional resource offers in-depth, practitioner-written summaries of national laws that govern cybersecurity, as well as data protection and privacy, using a question and answer format. Begin by selecting either "cybersecurity" or "data protection and privacy" from the practice areas menu. Then select a jurisdiction or use the comparison tool to compare laws across multiple jurisdictions. Jurisdictional coverage varies by practice area.
This user-friendly subscription database allows you to search by keyword in English for national laws and regulations from 95 jurisdictions worldwide. After running a search, use the country filters on the left to narrow by jurisdiction or click on the "Advanced Mode" link, displayed above the search results, to enter additional search terms linked by Boolean operators. For non-English-speaking jurisdictions, machine-generated English translations are provided, along with a link to the law or regulation in its original language.
- International Encyclopaedia of Laws -- Cyber Law Online
This resource offers detailed, book-length summaries of national laws pertaining to information technology in 31 jurisdictions worldwide. Each jurisdiction-specific treatise follows a standard outline, making it easy to compare laws across jurisdictions. Topics covered in each outline include privacy (Part VI) and non-contractual liability of network operators and service providers (Part V), among others. Citations to primary laws are included. All content is available for download in PDF format.