Table of Contents
Consult the resources described below for the latest news and developments in international and foreign cyberspace law.
- Bloomberg Law Privacy and Data Security News
This electronic news source, updated every weekday, monitors the latest developments in privacy and data security law worldwide. By default, only news stories are displayed. For more in-depth analysis, click on the "Insights" tab in the upper right-hand corner. Both news stories and insights may be filtered by topic. When searching news content by keyword, use the "Select Sources" menu to the right of the search button at the top of the page to limit searches by topic and by jurisdiction.
- Cheetah: Cybersecurity & Privacy News
In addition to its Cybersecurity & Privacy news feed, Cheetah also provides access to the following resources:
- Cybersecurity Policy Report
Monitors pending changes to legislation and regulations governing privacy and data security in the U.S. and other jurisdictions. Updated every weekday.
- Global Cybersecurity Developments
Publishes practitioner-written updates on the latest developments in privacy and data protection law in jurisdictions throughout the world. Use the menu on the left to browse by jurisdiction.
- U.S. Department of Justice -- Computer Crime & Intellectual Property Section (CCIPS) Press Releases
Press releases issued by the CCIPS are good sources for tracking cyber crime indictments and convictions.
- Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)
In addition to news summaries, EPIC's website provides access to the following current information tools:
- EPIC Alert -- Each issue of this bi-monthly newsletter includes brief updates on the latest developments in online privacy, more detailed articles on matters related to privacy, book reviews, and a list of upcoming conferences and events about privacy.
- EPIC Commentaries -- This page aggregates articles and commentary published by scholars affiliated with EPIC.
- Privacy International
This NGO's website includes the following current awareness tools:
- News Analysis -- Topical commentary on privacy matters in the news.
- Explainers -- Short videos and graphics provide succinct introductions to key concepts and issues related to privacy. "Long Reads" and Reports provide more in-depth analysis.
- Country Profiles -- View reports on the State of Privacy in 19 jurisdictions. Each report provides an overview of laws governing data protection, identity protection, surveillance, and related matters within the relevant jurisdiction. Reports are updated annually.
- Bits Blog -- Hosted by The New York Times, this blog offers insights on Silicon Valley and the technology industry.
- CDT Blog -- The Center for Democracy & Technology's blog covers topics from Internet governance to privacy.
- Cybercrime Blog -- Professor Susan Brenner maintains this blog, which is a good source for summaries of recent cases.
- Deeplinks -- Hosted by the Electronic Frontier Foundation, this blog focuses on online privacy and surveillance.
- Institute for Technology Law & Policy Blog -- The Institute's blog covers broad spectrum of issues related to technology and the law.
- Just Security -- This blog covers all aspects of national security law, including cyber warfare, cyber terrorism, surveillance, and related topics. To browse for posts by topic, click on "Hot Topics" on the menu bar near the top of the homepage. To search by keyword, click on the magnifying glass icon.
- Wired -- The website of the eponymous technology magazine hosts multiple tech-themed blogs, including one dedicated to Business issues and one dedicated to Security issues. To access content published in the print version of Wired magazine, members of the Georgetown community may click on the links in this library catalog record.
- ZDNet -- This business technology news website publishes more than 50 topical blogs. Browse by topic or by author or search by keyword. You must register and create an account to receive newsletter updates via email.