The library subscribes to many research databases. This section of the guide highlights those databases that are particularly useful for researching human rights. For a complete listing of the library's subscription databases, see our Online Collection page, where you can browse the databases alphabetically or by legal or non-legal subject.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) (Georgetown Only)
Scholarly documents from leading international relations research centers. Complete texts of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Also, journal issues and books. Coverage begins in 1991.
- Ethnic News Watch (Georgetown Only)
Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes articles editorials, columns, and reviews which provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
- Gender Watch (Georgetown Only)
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets,conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
- Legal Scholarship Network (Georgetown Only)
LSN is part of the Social Science Research Network and includes working papers as well as articles accepted for publication in various areas of law, including human rights. Working papers are available for downloading. Journal articles will need to be accessed from HeinOnline, Westlaw or Lexis.
Refworld is vast collection of country information, reports, policy documents, national legislation, position papers, case law, and much more. The simplest method to access information is to use the country name and then use "filter" to refine the results.