Guides: Treaty Research: Secondary Sources on Treaty Law

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Secondary Sources on Treaty Law & Practice

If you are new to treaty research, or are unfamiliar with a particular aspect thereof, start your research with a secondary source. The introductory and in-depth resources described below provide information about treaty negotiation, ratification, entry into force, reservations, declarations, amendments, interpretation, termination, suspension, and state succession, among other topics.

Introductory Sources in Print

Public International Law in a Nutshell (6th ed.)
Call Number: KZ3110.B84 .A3 2019 Reading Room Study Aids
Chapter 5 of this Nutshell provides an easy-to-digest overview of treaty law and practice. The current edition is available in the Study Aids section of the Reading Room on the second floor of the Williams Library (library use only). Prior editions, shelved on the third floor of the Williams Library, are available for borrowing. Also available electronically on the West Academic Study Aids platform.
The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
Call Number: REF KZ1160 .M39 2012
This 10-volume encyclopedia includes articles on various aspects of treaty law and practice written by some of the world's foremost international legal scholars. In particular, see Volume 9 (pages 1060-1144) and Volume 10 (pages 1-84). For online access to the encyclopedia, see the link in the right-hand column.

In-Depth Sources in Print

Modern Treaty Law and Practice (3rd ed.)
Call Number: REF KZ1301 .A93 2013
This textbook, written by a 35-year veteran of the UK's Foreign Office, explains how practical issues of treaty interpretation are dealt with on a daily basis.
National Treaty Law and Practice
Call Number: REF KZ1301 .N38 2005
Comparative analysis of treaty-making law and practice in 19 jurisdictions, including Canada, China, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Russia, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States, among others.
The Oxford Guide to Treaties (2nd ed.)
Call Number: REF KZ1301 .O94 2020
This guide sheds light on the rules and practices surrounding the making, interpretation, and operation of treaties and offers practical insights into how treaties actually work. Scholarly treatments are complimented by a set of model treaty clauses. Examples illustrate different approaches to entry into force, reservations, amendments, and other topics.
Treaty Interpretation (2nd ed.)
Call Number: INTL KZ1304 .G37 2015
Provides detailed guidance on the interpretation of treaties under the Vienna Convention, incorporating case law from a broad range of jurisdictions, as well as an account of the work of the International Law Commission in its relation to interpretative declarations.
Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties: A Commentary (2nd ed.)
Call Number: INTL KZ1301 .V54 2018
Covers both the 1969 Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties Between States and the 1986 Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties Between States and International Organizations or Between International Organizations. Includes the full text of each treaty, article-by-article commentary and interpretation, as well as the travaux préparatoires (drafting histories). The first edition is available as an e-book. (See right-hand column for link.)

Introductory Sources -- Electronic Access

Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law Online
From the purple menu bar at the top of the homepage, click on the "Subjects" tab and select "Law of Treaties." Then search by keyword or use the filters on the left side to find articles on narrower topics within the field of treaty law.

UN Treaty Collection Resources
The UN Treaty Collection offers several introductory resources, including a Glossary of treaty terminology and a Treaty Handbook, among others.

In-Depth Sources -- Electronic Access

National Treaty Law and Practice (e-book)
Call Number: KZ1301 .N38 2005 Electronic
See the left-hand column for a description of the print edition.
The Oxford Guide to Treaties (2nd ed.)
Call Number: KZ1301 .O94 2020 Electronic
See the left-hand column for a description of the print edition.
Treaty Interpretation (2nd ed.)
Call Number: KZ1304 .G37 2016 Electronic
See the left-hand column for a description of the print edition.
The Vienna Conventions on the Law of Treaties: A Commentary (1st ed.)
Call Number: KZ1298.31969 Electronic
The first edition of this treatise is available as an e-book. See the left-hand column for a description of the second edition (in print).

Treaty Research

Contents