Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

District of Columbia Resources

Session Laws

Permanent Acts

A bill becomes an act after the Mayor signs it. This permanent act is given a number preceded by an "A" (e.g., A15-390). After congressional and presidential approval, it becomes Law and is given a law number with an "L" (e.g., L15-155). This Law may amend, repeal, or transfer code sections and will be incorporated in the District of Columbia Official Code.

Emergency Acts

An Emergency Act is adopted by a two-thirds vote of the D.C. Council. It does not go through the Committee stage and does not require a second reading. It is only valid for 90 days. It is not subject to congressional approval or pre-publication in the D.C. Register. Identified with an "E" appearing in the act number (e.g., 15E-1), they are always treated as notes in the D.C. Code.

Temporary Acts

A temporary act can be passed along with the emergency act and it remains valid for no more than 225 days. Identified with a "T" appearing in the act number (e.g., 15T-61), it may be treated as notes to Code sections.


Resolutions are used to express simple determinations or decisions of the Council that are of a temporary or special character. A proposed resolution is treated like a bill, except that only one vote of the Council is required. It does not require the Mayor's signature or Congressional review. They are identified with a "R" or "PR" in the act number (e.g., R 15-4 or PR 15-4). "R" stands for Resolution, "PR" stands for Proposed Resolution.

Some acts may amend an agency rule, and these will be incorporated in the D.C. Municipal Regulations (DCMR).

Sources for Session Laws: