California Resources

Databases

• CA Full-Text Bills on Lexis (1991 to current session). 
• CA Bill Tracking Reports on Lexis (1988 - current session).
• California Proposed Legislation (Bills) on Westlaw (current session).
• California Historical Proposed Legislation (Bills) on Westlaw (2005 - prior session).
• California Bill Tracking on Westlaw (current).
• California Bill Tracking: Historical on Westlaw.

State Website

• California Legislative Information: Bill Search (Cal. Legis. Information) (1999-2000 - current session). Official site for California legislative information. Provides the full text of bills, resolutions, and constitutional amendments, and their status, history, votes, analyses, and veto messages. Search by session, House of origin and bill number, keyword and/or author's name.

Print Bills

• West's California Legislative Service, Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFC30.5 W41. Contains enacted senate and assembly bills arranged by chapter, proposed constitutional amendments, selected resolutions, ballot propositions, governor's reorganization plans, and state court rule amendments and additions that supplement West's Annotated California Codes (last updated in 2014 at Law Library).

After successful progression through the legislative process, each newly enacted bill is assigned a chapter number by the Secretary of State. The bills are numbered consecutively in the order in which they are received. The compilation of chaptered bills are called sessions laws and are published annually in the Statutes and Amendments to the Codes. The year and chapter number identify the chronological order of enactment.

Databases

• California Advance Legislative Service on Lexis (1987 - ).
• Enacted Legislation (Session Laws) on Westlaw (current year).
• California Historical Enacted Legislation (Session Laws) on Westlaw (1987 - previous year).
• HeinOnline Session Laws: California (1849 - prior year). Collection of California Session Laws and State Statutes. Contains general laws, amendments to the Codes, Resolutions, and Constitutional Amendments passed by the California Legislature. Session Laws are arranged in order of enactment (signed by the Governor and chaptered by the Secretary of State).
• LLMC Digital: California Session Laws (1848 - 2000).

State Websites

• Chaptered Bills Search (Cal. St. Legis.) (1993 - ).
• Bill Search (Cal. Legis. Information) (1999 - ).

Print Equivalent

• In microformat: West's Annotated California Code, Law Library Call Number: Media 1st Floor KFC30.5 .W4 Micro (1954-2006), no longer updated at Law Library: This microfiche edition consists of superseded volumes only.