California Resources

The Register contain notices of proposed regulatory actions and final regulations filed with the Secretary of State.

Databases

• California Regulatory Law Bulletin (Barclay's) on Lexis (1995 - ). Serves as a supplement to the Notice Register.
• CA State Regulation Tracking on Lexis (1990 - current). Contains summaries of proposed regulations and status actions for individual regulations as promulgated by various state agencies.
• CA State Net Regulatory Text on Lexis. "[F]ull text of regulations as published by the administrative agencies, in proposed, emergency, or adopted form, as well as rulemaking-related notices and statements."
• California Regulatory Law Reporter on Westlaw (1994 - ). Monitors and reports on the regulatory, legislative and litigation activities of California State Agencies. Also contains articles and commentary on public interest topics and regulatory law, including those articles, notes, symposium contributions, or other materials that have appeared in the California Regulatory Law Reporter.
• California Regulation Tracking on Westlaw (current). Tracks proposed and recently adopted administrative rules and regulations, includes a summary of the rule or regulation, status information and sponsoring agency.
• California Regulatory Law Reporter on HeinOnline (1981 - 2001). A quarterly journal once published in print by the University of San Diego School of Law's Center for Public Interest Law. It monitored and reported on the regulatory, legislative and litigation activities of 25 California State Agencies. Also contains articles and commentary on public interest topics and regulatory law.

State Website

• California Regulatory Notice Register Online (Off. Admin. L.). "Contains notices of proposed regulatory actions by state regulatory agencies to adopt, amend or repeal regulations contained in the California Code of Regulations." The text of the regulation sections affected is contained in the Register. Available in PDF, the Regulatory Notice Register is published weekly by the California Office of Administrative Law.

Barclay's Official California Code of Regulations (Cal. Code Regs.)

Databases

• Barclays Official California Code of Regulations on Lexis
• California Regulations on Westlaw
• California Code of Regulations on Bloomberg Law

State Website

• California Office of Administrative Law (site maintained by Thomson Reuters)

Print Regulations

Consists of 28 titles that contain the codification of state agency regulations.

• California State (Witkin Law) Library: Cal. Code Regs.
• WorldCat: Cal. Code Regs.. 
• Library of Congress: Cal. Code Regs.

Historical Print Regulations

Prior to 1990, publication was called the California Code of Regulations.

• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFC35 1990 .A22 1990 (v.1 - 38, lasted updated in 2008 at Law Library, including microform (1988 - 1994, 1997 -2002)).
  • Comprehensive Index, California Code of Regulations (1981 - 1999, ceased), Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFC35.5 .U58 A23 Index (1988-93, 1997-1999).

• Administrative Law: Current California Regulations (Loy. L. School Libr.) 
• Administrative Law: Historical California Regulations (Loy. L. School Libr.) 
• Administrative Law: How California Regulations Are Made (Loy. L. School Libr.) 
• Administrative Law Research (Univ. Cal. Irvine L. School Libr.) 
• California Administrative Law Guide (UCLA L. School Libr.) 
• California Administrative Law Research Guide (Univ. Cal. Hastings L. School Libr.) 
• California Code of Regulations History Research (Cal. Off. Admin. L.) 
• California Regulations (Univ. Cal. Davis L. School Libr.) 
• Free Legal Resources: California Regulations (Loyola L. School Libr.) 
• Henke's California Law Guide- Chapter 8 Administrative Law- Updated August 2017 by Caitlin Hunter (LawArXiv by Cornell Univ. "A revised and updated guide to researching California administrative law, written for a planned 9th edition of Henke's California Law Guide.")

State registers and regulation tracking are offered by Lexis, found in its Administrative Codes & Regulations with coverage varying by state. Please note that for some states, Lexis no longer updates the register and offers administrative agency rulemaking activity such as proposal, notice and comment, hearing, emergency and permanent promulgation, and withdrawal only through its Regulation Tracking service. Coverage of the service is generally from 1990 to current.

In Westlaw, search historical regulations (coverage varies per state), proposed & adopted regulations - current (covers 2 most recent years & currently proposed and newly adopted regulations), proposed and adopted regulations - all (to search the state's entire register with coverage starting from 2006) and regulation tracking. All links can be found on the state's Regulations page.

In Bloomberg Law, proposed, final, emergency, temporary, and interim rules, plus regulatory notices can be found under Rulemaking within the State Laws & Regulation collection.

The American Association of Law Libraries' Online Legal Information Resources notes the official status of each state's primary law publications found on government websites, including regulations.