Guides: Job Searching Research Guide: Public Interest Entities

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Public Interest Entities

As is the case with government positions, DC has many more nonprofit job opportunities available for lawyers than in many other parts of the country. And now, due to the emergence of loan repayment assistance programs, many more law graduates are able to accept such positions. The Law Library has a number of resources, both electronic and in print, to assist you with this research. The Office of Public Interest and Community Service should be consulted for guidance on locating specific job openings, but these resources can assist you as you prepare to interview and research potential employers.

Key Resources

Leadership Connect
Formerly known as the Yellow Book and Leadership Library, this electronic resource provides detailed directory information on government agencies, law firms, judicial entities, non-profits, news media and more in a searchable database. Biographies of judges, attorneys and corporate executives include their educational background, e-mail addresses, photos and publications, where available. The Leadership Connect function allows users to view each featured individual's network of affiliations, from colleges to boards to previous employment. Current Georgetown Law students, faculty, and staff may sign in with their University NetID for on-campus and off-campus access.

Other Electronic Resources

NALP Directory of Legal Employers This link opens in a new window
The National Association for Law Placement profiles law firms, government agencies, public interest entities and corporate legal departments in this resource. Profiles include detailed information on practice areas, demographics, salaries & benefits.

Equal Justice Works
Equal Justice Works connects law students, law school professionals, lawyers, and advocates with fellowships at legal services organizations and other opportunities in public interest law.
Lexis Public Interest Resources
Link to resources available on Lexis dealing with Public Interest resources available.
Public Service Job Directory
PSJD (formerly PSLawNet) is a unique online clearinghouse for law students and lawyers to connect with public interest job listings and career-building resources. Job listings in the PSJD database include internships (fall, spring, and summer), postgraduate fellowships, and a wide variety of permanent positions.

Other Print Resources

Beyond the Big Firm
Call Number: Stacks KF299.P8 M67
Read the stories of lawyers working in various capacities of public interest law - everything from children's rights advocates to immigration attorneys.
Serving the Public: A Job Search Guide
Call Number: Reference & Stacks KF299.P8 P42 (last updated at Law Library in 2009)
In addition to directory information of public interest and government entities, this resource offers sample resumes & cover letters, as well as general guidance for those seeking public service work.

Public Interest Writing Samples

Guides and handouts from the Writing Center at Georgetown Law can assist with job searching. Please visit the Writing Center's website for the most recent updates.

Writing Samples for Public Interest Positions

Job Searching Research Guide

Contents