Guides: Job Searching Research Guide: Judicial Clerkships

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Judicial Clerkships

Judicial clerkships are unique positions with a different type of application process. Since etiquette often deems that you should say yes to the first judge who offers you a clerkship position unless you have a very good reason to decline, it is better to carefully select the judges you wish to clerk for rather than simply sending out a mass mailing. Also, judges have very different opinions on what the law is and how it should be applied, and you will help author the judge's opinions, so it is important to research these differences beforehand as well. The Law Library has a number of resources, both electronic and in print, to assist you with this research.

Key Resources

Almanac of Federal Judiciary
Provides profiles for every federal trial and appellate judge in the United States, including important bankruptcy judges and magistrate judges. Profiles include judge's academic and professional background, experience on the bench, noteworthy rulings, and media coverage. Profiles are provided by lawyers who have tried cases before their respective federal judges.
Biographical Directory of Federal Judges
Provides the biographies of judges presidentially appointed to serve during good behavior since 1789 on the U.S. district courts, U.S. courts of appeals, Supreme Court of the United States, and U.S. Court of International Trade, as well as the former U.S. circuit courts, Court of Claims, U.S. Customs Court, and U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals. Also included are judges who received presidential recess appointments to the above named courts but were not confirmed by the Senate to serve during good behavior.
Just the Beginning - Diversity Clerkship Program
Just the Beginning (JTB) provides highly qualified law students from socioeconomic, ethnic, and cultural backgrounds underrepresented in the legal profession with summer judicial internships in the chambers of federal and state appellate judges, federal district judges, and federal bankruptcy and magistrate judges.
Leadership Connect: Courts
You can search for a specific court or judge, or using the Browse command, browse through Leadership Connect for a detailed description of each court's jurisdiction, contact information, biographical information on each judge and key court personnel. Photos, e-mail addresses and phone numbers are provided when available. Current Georgetown Law students, faculty, and staff may sign in with their University NetID for on-campus and off-campus access.
OSCAR - Online System for Clerkship Application and Review
Using OSCAR, applicants can easily apply to federal clerkships (chambers, pro se, death penalty, and bankruptcy appellate panel) and staff attorney positions.

Other Electronic Resources

Law Clerk Handbook: A Handbook for Law Clerks to Federal Judges, Fourth Edition
Formerly the Chambers Handbook for Judges’ Law Clerks and Secretaries, now only focuses on the unique needs of law clerks. This handbook provides an overview of chambers operations and the work of the federal courts; it does not provide detailed procedures on every aspect of a law clerk’s daily tasks or review the procedures of each individual court .
The All-Inclusive Guide to Judicial Clerking
A guide appropriate for current and prospective law clerks, describing the purpose and function of a judicial clerk, the nature and structure of the judiciary, how to apply for and obtain a clerkship, and more importantly, how to perform well during and after the clerkship.

Using Westlaw to Search for a Specific Judge's Opinions

Other Print Resources

American Bench
Call Number: Reference & Stacks KF8700.A19 A47 (currently updated in Law Library)
Directory of comprehensive biographical information on over 18,000 judges at all levels of federal, state and local courts with jurisdictional, structural and geographical facts on the courts they serve.
Behind the Bench: The Guide to Judicial Clerkships
Call Number: Reference KF8771 .S85. Also available through West Academic Study Aids Online.
General information about clerkships including what they are, what kind of work clerks do, how to find and apply for a clerkship, and how to give a clerkship interview.
Judicial Clerkships by Aliza Milner
Call Number: Stacks KF8771 .M55 2011
Serving as a desk reference for judicial clerks and interns, its three parts focuses on clerking in trial & appellate courts and analyzing and drafting skills.
Judicial Clerkships; A Practical Guide by Mary Dunnewold; Beth Honetschlager; Brenda Tofte
Call Number: Stacks KF8807 .D863 2010
A comprehensive guide to working as a judicial clerk, explaining the clerk's role and duties, adapting writing styles used in law school, and introducing the form and content of specific documents written by judicial clerks.
In Chambers by Jennifer L. Sheppard
Call Number: Stacks KF8807 .S527 2012
Explains rudimentary tasks, such as reading a docket sheet and working with a case file, offers detailed instructions on drafting jury instructions and provides common sources of authority used by courts. Offers checklists drafting documents.

Getting Help with Judicial Writing

Guides and handouts from the Writing Center at Georgetown Law can assist with job searching and judicial writing. Please visit the Writing Center's website for the most recent updates.

Job Searching Research Guide

Contents