Job Searching Research Guide

Formerly known as the Yellow Book and Leadership Library, this electronic resource provides detailed directory information on government agencies, law firms, judicial entities, non-profits, news media and more in a searchable database. Biographies of judges, attorneys and corporate executives include their educational background, e-mail addresses, photos and publications, where available. The Leadership Connect function allows users to view each featured individual's network of affiliations, from colleges to boards to previous employment. Current Georgetown Law students, faculty, and staff may sign in with their University NetID for on-campus and off-campus access.

Covering rankings and surveys -- attorney counts, billing, branch offices, lateral moves, corporate representation and capital markets work, corporate legal departments, mergers & acquisitions modeling, diversity and pro bono -- ALM Law.com Compass enables top U.S. and international law firms and their clients to assess competitors, identify client opportunities, and benchmark performance. ALM also includes the AmLaw200 rankings from 1999 to the present.

Interstride is the designed to help international students and international job-searchers launch their career in the U.S. and globally by supporting their professional growth and career endeavors through data-driven resources, insights, and networks. Create an account on the “Log in” page. Enter your Georgetown Law email and click “Next.” Complete the form and click “Create account” to set up your profile.

The National Association for Law Placement profiles law firms, government agencies, public interest entities and corporate legal departments in this resource. Profiles include detailed information on practice areas, demographics, salaries & benefits.

Lawyer Search allows users to search for individual lawyers by name, practice area, biography, geography, and more.

Bloomberg's proprietary business news and competitive intelligence combines with their legal platform to provide access to profiles of people in the news; judges, lawyers, law professors, etc.

Provides biographical information about attorneys, judges, experts, arbitrators and intellectual property professionals, as well as links to documents that reflect their work history.

Offering searchable profiles compiled and adapted from the Almanac of American Politics. Also includes in-depth biographies and profiles of governors, members of Congress, and other politicians from state and congressional districts. To access, click on "Almanac" in the top menu of National Journal.

Call Number: Reference & Stacks E176 .W642 (currently updated in Law Library)
Offers biographical information on over 100,000 prominent Americans.

Call Number: Reference KF190 .W56 (last updated at the Law Library in 2016)
Provides personal biographical information on approximately 15,000 American legal professionals including top judges, lawyers, educators, legal theorists, legal writers and editors.

Search for an attorney, judge, law firm, or company and drill down into the types of litigation they do, what jurisdictions they have been active in, and the dockets of the cases they have worked on.

Offers insights on judges, attorneys, and law firms using data from federal and select state dockets and cases.

Offers analytics to assess the experience of attorneys and law firms in federal district and state courts, to compare law firm and attorney performance based on actual results in federal district court, and to track judge behavior over time in federal district court.

Offers insights using language analytics on judges, attorneys, and companies.