Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Treaty Research

This guide describes resources and methods for locating and updating treaties of the United States and other countries.

Full-Text Sources for Bilateral Treaties -- Multiple Jurisdictions

The resources described in the following table include both bilateral and multilateral treaty texts.  If you have a citation to one of these sources, you can use it to retrieve the full text of the treaty.  If you don't have a citation, you may still be able to retrieve the treaty text from one of these sources by checking the indexes (for the print versions) or by using the search tools (for the online versions). 

Note that some of these sources are still being published and continue to incorporate newly concluded bilateral treaties.  Others have ceased publication and include only older treaties within a specified date range.  Some sources are more selective in their coverage of bilateral treaties than others, but no source is fully comprehensive. 

Title & Description Citation Dates of Coverage Print/Microform Holdings Online Access
United Nations Treaty Series
Includes more than 100,000 bilateral and multilateral treaties registered or recorded with the U.N.  Treaty texts are presented in their authentic language(s).  English and/or French translations also are provided, when appropriate.  Content is indexed by date, by country, and by subject.
vol. no. U.N.T.S. xxx 1946-present KZ172 .T74 U.N. Treaty Collection  To retrieve a treaty text by citation to the U.N.T.S. or by registration number, use the Advanced Search and filter by volume number or by registration number.  To search for bilateral treaties without a citation or registration number, use the Advanced Search and filter by treaty type (bilateral) or search by title.

HeinOnline's U.N. Law Collection  If you have a citation, select U.N.T.S. Citation as the search field from the menu to the left of the first search box.  (The default setting is the treaty registration number.)  If you don't have a citation or registration number, the search field menu offers many options for searching by keyword, country, title, etc.  To learn about search and browse options, download the Quick Reference Guide.
League of Nations Treaty Series
Includes bilateral and multilateral treaties that were deposited with the League of Nations, the predecessor to  the United Nations.  Some treaty texts are presented in their authentic language(s).  For others, only English and French translations are provided.  Content is indexed by date, by country, and by subject.
vo. no. L.N.T.S. xxx 1920-1945 KZ170 .T74 U.N. Treaty Collection  If you have a citation to the L.N.T.S. or an L.N.T.S. registration number, it is easier to retrieve the treaty text on HeinOnline (see below).  To search for bilateral treaties without a citation or registration number, use the Advanced Search and filter by treaty type (bilateral)

HeinOnline's U.N. Law Collection  If you have a citation to the L.N.T.S., click on the appropriate link under the heading "Finding Aids" in the center of the page to access the citation retrieval form.  If you have an L.N.T.S. registration number, or if you want to search for bilateral treaties, use the Treaty Search templateTo learn about search and browse options, download the Quick Reference Guide.
Parry's Consolidated Treaty Series
Includes all available bilateral and multilateral treaties concluded between 1648 and 1919.  Treaty texts are reproduced in their original language(s), with some English and/or French translations.  Parallel citations are provided, along with annotations documenting subsequent modifications or terminations.  Content is indexed by date and by party.
vol. no. Consol. T.S. xxx 1648-1919 KZ120 .P35 Oxford Historical Treaties  Select "bilateral treaties" as the Content Type from the blue menu bar.  Then search by keyword or use the filters on the left to narrow by country or by date.
International Legal Materials
This series selectively publishes significant bilateral and multilateral treaties, along with other types of international materials (decisions rendered by international tribunals, reports issued by international organizations, etc.). 
vol. no. I.L.M. xxxx 1962-present KZ64 .I58 (Current issues on reserve.)

HeinOnline

JSTOR

Lexis

Westlaw

Organization of American States Treaty Series
Includes bilateral agreements between organs of the OAS and its member states, as well as multilateral treaties concluded within the framework of the OAS.
O.A.S.T.S. no. xxxx 1970-present KDZ10 .T74 Inter-American Treaties (O.A.S. website) Bilateral treaties may be browsed alphabetically by party or chronologically by year.