Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Health Law Research Guide

This in-depth guide on health law research provides access to legal and public policy resources on various aspects of health law.

Health Care Reform Sources

Select resources related to the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act ("PPACA"), Pub. L. No. 111-148, 124 Stat. 119 (2010).

  • Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act: Law, Explanation, and Analysis (CCH Intelliconnect)
    This source contains the full text of the Act with amendments from the Manager's Amendment (Title X) and the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010 fully integrated as well as extensive explanation and analysis, committee reports, and tables listing effective dates and how the new law amends the Internal Revenue Code, the Social Security Act, and ERISA. First-time users of IntelliConnect will need to register using their Georgetown email address.
     
  • Health Care Reform: Law and Practice (LexisNexis)
    Includes introduction to and analysis of the PPACA. Additionally, this resource details the impact of the PPACA on different aspects of health care.
     
  • ProQuest Congressional
    Contains a compiled legislative history for the PPACA. Once in ProQuest Congressional, select "Search By Number" and then select "Public Law Number" under "Legislative Citations." Select the congressional session "111 (2009-2010)" and then enter "148" after "PL" to indicate that you want to search for Pub. L. 111-148. Once you select "search," click on "Legislative History" on the right panel to narrow your results.
     
  • Healthcare.gov
    Portal maintained by the Department of Health and Human Services that provides consumer information regarding the Act. The website includes information on the new law and its implementation as well as tools for finding insurance options and comparing hospitals. It is also the gateway to signing up for health coverage.