Tools for Finding Journal Articles
Journal articles can be an excellent source for researching narrower, more specialized legal topics. Articles published in law journals include extensive footnotes with citations to primary and secondary sources that are relevant to the topic. Two types of tools for conducting journal article research are described below.
- Journal indexes include bibliographic information about an article, such as the title, the name of the author, and the name of the journal, as well as one or more subject descriptors. Searching in a journal index usually retrieves more relevant articles than searching in a full-text database because the searches are run only on the bibliographic data and the subject descriptors.
- Full-text journal databases allow you to search within the entire text of an article. Most of them also include bibliographic information, as well. It is easier to run searches in full-text databases, but they tend to retrieve many irrelevant articles in addition to the relevant articles.
For more information on how to use indexes and full-text databases for journal article research, consult the following library research guide: Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research.
Journal Indexes & Databases for South African Legal Research
You will find citations to articles written about South African legal topics in frequently used law journal indexes, such as LegalTrac and Legal Periodicals and Books; and in frequently used full-text law journal databases, such as those available on HeinOnline, Lexis, and Westlaw. Among the full-text journal databases, HeinOnline's coverage of South African law journals is the most extensive.
The following resources focus primarily or exclusively on journals published outside the U.S.:
- Cambridge Core
Search for all types of content, including journal articles, published by Cambridge University Press. After running a search, use the filters on the left to limit by content type, subject, journal name, and date.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
This HeinOnline database is the only journal database that enables you to limit searches to law journals published in South Africa. To do so, select "Country of Publication" from the search field menu and then enter South Africa in the adjacent search box. All articles are assigned subject headings in English, French, German, and Spanish. Click on the Subject button to view the list of subject headings. If you find a citation to an article that is not available in full text on HeinOnline, you may request it through Inter-Library Loan.
- Oxford Academic Journals Online
Full-text database for journals published by Oxford University Press. After running a search, use the filters on the left to limit by article type, subject, journal name, and date.
How to Retrieve an Article If You Already Have a Citation
If you already have a citation to a journal article, use the resources described below to retrieve the full text. Keep in mind that electronic access to full-text articles varies by journal. Some journals are available on multiple electronic platforms, but the dates of coverage often vary. If the article you are seeking falls outside the dates of coverage for electronic access, you will need to access the journal in print, if available, or request a copy of the article via Inter-Library Loan.
- Search by Citation
If the article you are seeking is available in an electronic format from any Georgetown University library, you should be able to quickly retrieve the full text of the article by entering the citation information into this online form.
- Journal Finder
If the Search by Citation tool fails to retrieve the full text of the article you are seeking, search for the name of the journal in which the article was published in the Journal Finder. If the Georgetown Law Library has the journal in print, the Journal Finder will display print holdings and dates of coverage. It also willing display electronic holdings for the journal, along with the dates of coverage, for all Georgetown University libraries.
- Inter-Library Loan
If the article you are seeking is not available print from the Georgetown Law Library, or in an electronic format from any Georgetown University library, you may request a copy of the article from another library by using the Inter-Library Loan (ILL) service.
Selected South African Law Journals
Current editions of journals that are still collected in print are available at the Circulation Desk in the atrium on the second floor of the Williams Library. Older editions are shelved on the first floor (lower level) of the Williams Library.
- Acta Juridica, Call No. K1 .C83
Published annually by the faculty of law at the University of Cape Town.
Print holdings: 1958-present. Electronic access on HeinOnline (2-year embargo).
- Annual Survey of South African Law, Call No. KTL12 .A56
Published by the faculty of law at the University of Witwatersrand.
Print holdings: 1947-present. Electronic access on HeinOnline (2-year embargo).
- Comparative and International Law Journal of South Africa, Call No. K3 .0623
Published by the University of South Africa's Institute of Foreign & Comparative Law.
Print holdings: 1968-present. Electronic access on HeinOnline (2-year embargo).
- Constitutional Court Review, Call No. K3 .05286 Electronic
Published annually. No print holdings. Electronic access on HeinOnline (2008-present).
- De Jure, Call No. K4 .E19
Published annually by the faculty of law at the University of Pretoria.
Print holdings: 1990-2010. Electronic access on HeinOnline (1972-present).
- Fundamina: A Journal of Legal History, Call No. K6 .U55 Electronic
Published biannually by the South African Society of Legal Historians.
No print holdings. Electronic access on HeinOnline (1992-present).
- Industrial Law Journal: Including the Industrial Law Reports, Call No. KTL1265.5 .I5
Published monthly by the Centre for Applied Legal Studies at the University of Witwatersrand.
Print holdings: 1980-2012. Electronic access on HeinOnline (2-year embargo).
- Journal of South African Law = Tydskrif vir die Suid-Afrikaanse Reg, Call No. K24 .Y37 Electronic
Published biannually by the faculty of law at the University of Johannesburg. Articles in English or Afrikaans.
No print holdings. Electronic access on HeinOnline (2-year embargo).
- Potchefstroom Electronic Law Journal, Call No. K16 .083 Electronic
Published quarterly by the Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education.
No print holdings. Electronic access on HeinOnline (1998-present).
- South African Journal of Criminal Justice =
Suid Afrikaanse Tydskrif vir Strafregspleging, Call No. K23 .058
Published three times per year. Articles in English or Afrikaans.
Print holdings: 1988-present. Electronic access on HeinOnline (2-year embargo).
- South African Journal of Human Rights, Call No. K23 .06
Published by the Centre for Applied Legal Studies at the University of Witwatersrand.
Print holdings: 1985-present. Electronic access on HeinOnline (5-year embargo).
- South African Law Journal, Call No. K23 .07
Published quarterly by the Law Society of the Cape of Good Hope.
Print holdings: 1901-present. Electronic access on HeinOnline (2-year embargo).
- South African Mercantile Law Journal =
Suid Afrikaanse Tydskrif vir Handelsreg, Call No. K23 .A14 Electronic
Published by the faculty of law at the University of South Africa. Articles in English or Afrikaans.
No print holdings. Electronic access on HeinOnline (2-year embargo).
- Southern African Public Law, Call No. KTL2000.A15 S22
Published by the VerLoren van Themaat Centre for Public Law Studies at the University of South Africa.
Print holdings: 2010-present.
- Stellenbosch Law Review = Regtydskrif, Call No. K23 .T45
Published three times per year. Articles in English or Afrikaans.
Print holdings: 1990-2011. Electronic access on HeinOnline (2-year embargo).
