To retrieve more publications on Pandemic Flu, consult the library's catalog and conduct a subject search for:
- Communicable Diseases
- Epidemics -- United States -- Prevention
- Influenza -- United States -- Prevention
Consult the Research Guide on Using Articles for Legal & Non-Legal Research for assistance in locating articles on pandemic flu.
Medical Journal Articles
This is the most important index for U.S. medical journals, and includes many international ones as well. Medline (Ovid), see below, is the best way for Georgetown students and faculty to use Medline, because the full text of some articles are available. Medline is also available for free on the Web (without full text) through the PubMed service at the National Library of Medicine. It is also available as a database on Lexis (Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > Medical > Medical Reference > Medline References) and Westlaw: MEDLINE (without full text of articles).
- Medline (Ovid) (1951- ) A version of Medline with access to the full text of many articles. Available to Georgetown faculty and students only through the Medical Center's Dahlgren Library. (Georgetown Law on-campus access only)
Public Health Journals
Below is an alphabetical list of leading public health journals and periodicals with a focus on infectious diseases.
- American Journal of Epidemiology (Georgetown Law on-campus access only)
- American Journal of Public Health [K1 .M57]
- Bulletin of the World Health Organization: the International Journal of Public Health
Its mission is "[t]o publish and disseminate scientifically rigorous public health information of international significance that enables policy-makers, researchers and practitioners to be more effective and improves health, particularly among disadvantaged populations.
- Emerging Infectious Diseases: A Peer-Reviewed Journal Tracking and Analyzing Disease Trends (CDC) (1995-present)
- European Journal of Public Health [INTL, K5 .U728], also available online (Georgetown Law only)
A joint project since 1995 of the Institut de veille sanitaire at Saint-Maurice, France, and the Health Protection Agency Centre for Infections in London, United Kingdom, funded by the European Commission's Directorate-General for Health and Consumer Protection (DG SANCO), Eurosurveillance is a free journal with monthly and weekly releases publishing "authoritative, peer-reviewed information on communicable diseases from a European perspective." Target readers are professionals and policy makers in the field of communicable diseases.
- The Milbank Quarterly [K13 .I385]
A Multidisciplinary Journal of Population Health and Health Policy.
- Weekly Epidemiological Record (World Health Organization)
"[A]n essential instrument for the collation and dissemination of epidemiological data useful in disease surveillance on a global level. Priority is given to diseases or risk factors known to threaten international health."
Health Care Administration/Management Journals
- Health Business Elite Database (Georgetown Law on-campus access only)
Covers topics such as hospital management, hospital administration, marketing, human resources, computer technology, facilities management and insurance. Contains full text content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management from more than 450 journals such as Harvard Business Review, Health Care Financing Review, Health Facilities Management, etc.
1. MAJOR GOVERNMENT REPORTS (IN REVERSE CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER)
The following are non-partisan government reports on various aspects of influenza pandemic.
The 2009 Influenza Pandemic: An Overview (CRS Report, September 10, 2009)
The 2009 Influenza A (H1N1) Outbreak: Selected Legal Issues (CRS Report, May 21, 2009)
- Quarantine and Isolation: Selected Legal Issues Relating to Employment (CRS Report, May 11, 2009)
- Public Health and Medical Preparedness Response: Issues in the 111th Congress (CRS Report, February 25, 2009)
- Influenza Pandemic:: Sustaining Focus on the Nation's Planning and Preparedness Efforts(GAO Report 09-334, February 2009)
- Getting Beyond Getting Ready for Pandemic Influenza (House Committee on Homeland Security, January 2009)
- Assessment of States" Operating Plans to Combat Pandemic Influenza (Report to Homeland Security Council, January 2009)
- Would an Influenza Pandemic Qualify as a Major Disaster Under the Stafford Act? (CRS Report, October 20, 2008)
- Guidance on Allocating and Targeting Pandemic Influenza Vaccine (Departments of HHS and Homeland Security, August, 2008)
- Influenza Pandemic: Federal Agencies Should Continue to Assist States to Address Gaps in Pandemic Planning (GAO Report 08-539, June 2008)
- Pandemic Influenza: An Analysis of State Preparedness and Response Plans (CRS Report, September 24, 2007)
- The Pandemic and All-Hazards Preparedness Act (P.L. 109-417):Provisions and Changes to Existing Law (CRS Report, March 17, 2007)
- Global Health Security Index
Comprehensive assessment and benchmarking of health security and related capabilities across the 195 countries that make up the States Parties to the International Health Regulations. The GHS Index is a project of the Nuclear Threat Initiative and the Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security and was developed with The Economist Intelligence Unit.
- PolicyFile (1990-) (Georgetown Law only)
Indexes and abstracts public policy research and analyses originating from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers (includes GAO Reports, but not CRS Reports). Where available, access to home pages and full text are made available within individual abstracts. This index also includes data visualization tools that is intended to demonstrate and track preparedness for major epidemics of countries and regions around the world.
- PAIS International (1972-) (Georgetown Law On-campus access only)
Indexes public policy and public affairs literature.
- CQ Researcher Weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. It published a report on the Avian Flu Threat on January 13, 2006.
- Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS Reports)
These are non-partisan and in-depth reports produced by the Congressional Research Service, the research arm of the Library of Congress, on a variety of topics for Congress. They are not widely available, but a few libraries have been collecting and making them accessible: