News Research Guide

Create a NYT Academic Pass account using your Georgetown email at Access NYT. Select Georgetown University - Washington D.C. and follow the instructions. See NYT Academic Pass Setup for help.

We have access to prior news articles from the New York Times through a number of databases, including Factiva, Nexis Uni, ProQuest and more. See the dates of coverage on this page.

Coverage from 1851-2012 of The New York Times, offering first hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. National, as well as regional news, is highlighted.

1857-2007 is available on microform in the Media Services Dept. on the First Floor of the Library.

Authenticate with your NetID (if prompted). Alternatively, to create a personal account to access the website and Washington Post apps, see Washington Post Direct Access Details.

ProQuest and Factiva provide full text of articles published in the Washington Post. The dates of coverage are provided in this link.

The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from available issue from 1877-2002.

1877-2007 is available on microform in the Media Services Dept. on the First Floor of the Library.

Full text coverage from Jan. 2, 1984 to present available on ProQuest.

Factiva (1979-) and ABI Inform provide access to articles from the WSJ.

The Wall Street Journal Historical collection contains full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1889. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

1970-2004 is available on microform in the Media Services Dept. on the First Floor of the Library.

Set up your own individual subscription with the educational discount service.

Full text from Oct. 29, 2001 to present. There is a one month delay online.

Factiva, Access World News and ABI/Inform provide access to the Financial Times through their database service. Coverage varies by subscription.

Archives from 1888-2010.

1990-2008 is available in microform in the Media Services Dept. on the First Floor of the Library.

Articles from the print and online editions of The Economist, the world's weekly newspaper. With searchable archives back to the mid-1990s.

The Economist Historical Archive covers issues of The Economist from 1843 to 2003.

1996-present of the Los Angeles Times through the ProQuest database.

Coverage from 1785-present through various databases, including Gale, Factiva and ProQuest.