News Research Guide

The following are a selection of news databases. To see all of the Law Library's accessible news databases, please view the Law Library catalog. For news databases accessible through the Main Campus library, please visit the Lauinger Library Databases page. Lauinger Library also offers a News & Commentary research guide which provides a curated selection of general news sources, national, international, and historical news options. Many of these news resources are available on the web. As a note, most newspapers will maintain their own website, typically with an archives of back issues. In some cases, articles from the print version of a newspaper have been edited and/or may not be included in those online archives. In cases where an existing article cannot be located, an article may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. In addition, individual news websites may charge for retrieving individual articles. Please check in the Law Library catalog to see if we provide access to these articles. 

There are several legal newspapers published throughout the United States. Most are only printed online. The following list is not meant to be exhaustive, as Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg, and many, many other databases offered through the Law Library Catalog  or Lauinger Library have coverage of other legal news materials. Some of the most widely read legal news sources include:

In the Law Library, physical, daily copies of the Wall Street Journal and Financial Times are on reserve behind the circulation desk for 30 days. Otherwise, the following are some of the other ways to access popular news sources.

• New York Times
  • Registration required. Follow and complete the instructions on Lauinger Library's New York Times guide before accessing.
• WashingtonPost.com
  • Use your georgetown.edu email address to set up an account to use the app or website for off-campus access. More information on Lauinger Library's Washington Post Guide. We have access to the Washington Post through the Law Library catalog in a variety of forms with varying dates of coverage, including historical articles. Physical copies from 1877-2007 are available in microform in the Media Services Dept. on the First Floor of the Law Library.
• The Wall Street Journal
  • Several databases provide access to the WSJ from 1979-present. Historical copies of the WSJ all the way back to the first issue are available as well. 1970-2004 is available in microform in the Media Services Dept. on the First Floor of the Library.
• Financial Times
  • Copies of Financial Times are available from 1888-present across various databases. Issues from 1990-2008 are available in microform in the Media Services Dept. on the First Floor of the Library.
• The Economist
  • Current issues are available through the Economist website. In addition, copies from 1843-present are available in the Law Library across ABI/Inform, Gale, and ProQuest. 

The D.C. Public Library provides access to a number of news resources. Access may require a DC Public Library card, and library cards are available to anyone who resides, works, pays property taxes or attends school in the District of Columbia. Residents of certain counties surrounding D.C. may also apply for a card for free.