Guides: News Research Guide: Historical News Research

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Historical Newspapers

These are a selection of historical newspapers for which the Law Library provides access. You may find other sources through the Main Campus Library, including United States Historical Newspapers and World Historical Newspapers. Lastly, the Internet Archive offers an incredibly robust selection of historical newspapers in the United States and across the world.

New York Times (1851-2017)
Wall Street Journal (1889-2003)
Washington Post (1877-2004)
Chronicling America
A searchable database of many smaller digitized newspapers published in the United States from 1777-1963. It also offers a U.S. Newspaper Directory for newspapers published from 1690 until today. This project is in conjunction with the National Digital Newspaper Project. It can be very helpful for historical research.
Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1945)
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Baltimore Sun (1837 -1995)
Chicago Tribune (1849 - 2015)
African-American Newspapers (1827-1998)
African American Newspapers provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876
Offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century, Series 1 is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Chicago Defender (1909 - 1975)
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1995)
Evening Star (1852-1981)
Google News - Newspapers
Google News offers access to a large variety of historical newspapers from the United States and abroad.
America's Historical Imprints
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. Available here: Black Authors, 1556-1922: Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker; Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia; The American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922: From the American Antiquarian Society.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
Over 1 million pages of newspapers, periodicals, government reports, and more on LGBTQ activism, culture, organizations, and more. Coverage ranges from the 1940s to 2014. Part of Gale Primary Sources Online.
America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: African American Newspapers (19th & 20th Century); Caribbean Newspapers (140 newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876); Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980).

The library maintains a spreadsheet with exhaustive listings of our microfilm holdings, including newspapers. This material is located in the Media Services Department on the first floor of the library. The following is a sample of our general newspaper holdings:

The Christian Science Monitor: 1980-2001
The Financial Times: 1990-present
The Independent: 1986-2001
The Journal of Commerce: 1996-2000
Los Angeles Times: 1982-2001
New York Times: 1851-2012
The Times (London): 1986-2001
Wall Street Journal: 1970-2004
Washington Post: 1877-2004
Washington Star: 1979-1981

News Research Guide

Contents

Key to Icons

Historical Newspapers