Guides: Native American Law Research Guide: Treaties

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Treaties Collections

Indigenous Peoples of the Americas Treaties Collection
The treaties collection contains a large number of treaties from 1722-1883 and consists of scans from the Statutes at Large, Indian Affairs Laws and Treaties, and collections of colonial-era documents. Treaty Related Publications contains a plethora of primary and secondary sources.
Indian Affairs. Laws and Treaties Volume II: Treaties
Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, this historically significant, seven volume compilation contains U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII).

Native Lands Map and Treaties

Native Land

Native-Land.ca is a resource produced by Native Land Digital, a not-for-profit striving to enhance "the visibility and strength of indigenous history, narratives that combat colonialism, and education initiatives." Native-Land.ca is a web based resource that provides a map of original oc

Treaties and Historic Primary Law Resources

American Indian Treaties
A guide to ratified and unratified colonial, United States, state, foreign, and intertribal treaties and agreements, 1607-1911. Provides citation to CFR publication.

Native American Law Research Guide

Contents

Key to Icons

Treaties Collections

Native Lands Map and Treaties

Treaties and Historic Primary Law Resources