Guides: German Legal Research Guide: Nuremberg Trials Materials

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Nuremberg Trials Materials

The Georgetown Law Library has two sets of print documents and proceedings from the Nuremberg trials, which are shelved on the third floor of the Williams Library. Researchers also may wish to utilize the free online collections of digitized trial materials listed below, which provide access to additional documents not included in the print sets. A selection of secondary sources on the Nuremberg trials from the Law Library’s print collection follows, along with tips on how to locate additional materials.

Trial Documents, Proceedings and Judgments

Print Collections

Trial of the Major War Criminals before the International Military Tribunal, Nuremberg, 14 November 1945–1 October 1946 (42-volume set), Call No. KZ1176 .T73 1947
Also available electronically on HeinOnline.
Nazi Conspiracy and Aggression (8-volume set), Call No. KZ1176 .U54 1946
Also available electronically on HeinOnline.

Free Online Collections

Taube Archive of the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg, 1945-46 (Standford Libraries)
Avalon Project: The Nuremberg War Crimes Trials (Yale Law School)
Donovan Nuremberg Trials Collection (Cornell Law Library)
Nuremberg Trials Project A Digital Document Collection (Harvard Law School Library)
Bibliographies: The Nuremberg Trials (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum)
Famous World Trials: Nuremberg Trials (Prof. Douglas Linder, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law)

Selected Secondary Sources

A selection of secondary sources on the Nuremberg trials follows. To locate additional materials, search the Law Library’s online catalog using the following subject headings:

Inside the Nuremberg Trial
Call Number: INTL KZ1176 .S68 1999
The author of this two-volume set analyzes the evidence and the arguments raised by the American, British, French, and Soviet prosecutors and by the counsel for the defendants. Separate chapters are devoted to each of the 22 individual defendants and each of the seven accused organizations. He concludes with a discussion of the trial’s legacy.
Judgment on Nuremberg: American Attitudes Toward the Major German War-Crime Trials
Call Number: Online and INTL KZ1176.5 .B67 1970
In this prodigiously researched study, the author concentrates on the reaction to the trials by various segments of the American public largely in terms of the legality of the tribunal, the composition of the court, the justice of the verdicts, and the implications for the future.
The Nuremberg Interviews
Call Number: INTL KZ1176 .G65 2004
U.S. Army psychiatrist Dr. Leon Goldensohn was entrusted with monitoring the mental health of the two dozen German leaders charged with carrying out genocide. For more than half a century, Goldensohn’s recorded conversations with the defendants were largely unknown and inaccessible until historian Robert Gellately transcribed, edited, and annotated the them. Candid and often shockingly truthful, these interviews are deeply disturbing in their illumination of an ideology gone mad. Each interview is annotated with biographical information that places the man and his actions in their historical context.
The Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, 1945–46: A Brief History with Documents
Call Number: D804.G42 N87 2018
Covering the proceedings, from preparations of the prosecution and defense to how the tribunal handled the counts against the accused, Nuremberg War Crimes Trial, 1945-46 takes you through the entire process surrounding the trial of 22 high-ranking Nazi officials between 1945 and 1946, bringing this intense event to life for today’s students of history.
Punishing Atrocities Through a Fair Trial: International Criminal Law from Nuremberg to the Age of Global Terrorism
Call Number: INTL KZ7050 .H34 2018
This book explores the tension between holding perpetrators of genocide, war crimes, and crimes against humanity accountable for their actions while still protecting their right to a fair trial. It addresses criticisms of the Nuremberg Trials as a “victor's justice,” as well as accusations of political motivations clouding prosecutions by the International Criminal Court. In doing so, it explains why international criminal law must adhere to transparent principles of legality and due process to ensure its future as a legitimate and viable legal regime.
War Crimes: The Legacy of Nuremberg
Call Number: Online and INTL KZ1176 .W37 1999
This collection of essays written by lawyers, journalists, and policy experts examines the legacy of the Nuremberg trials in the wake of more recent prosecutions conducted by international criminal tribunals for war crimes, genocide, and crimes against humanity committed in Europe, Africa, and Asia.
Witnesses to Nuremberg: An Oral History of American Participants at the War Crimes Trials
Call Number: INTL KZ1176 .S73 1998
These compelling first-person accounts of the Nuremberg trials were recorded by professional historians who interviewed 11 Americans participants, including prosecutors, journalists, security guards, and even the architect who designed the courtroom. Their voices speak directly to the reader and reflect upon the meaning of justice in the post-World War II world.

German Legal Research Guide