Supreme Court Research Guide

Fully searchable digitized database of Chief Justice Marshall's correspondence and papers.

Fully searchable digitized collection of the papers of Justice John Jay, covering 1760 to 1788

Five volume collection of Chase's journals and correspondence from 1823 to 1873.

Papers related to October Terms 1916 to 1933.

Case files of opinions and memoranda from 1938-1961 and correspondence and other related materials.

The O’Connor Digital Library offer students and the general public educational information and access to diverse sources of information, from her early life on the Lazy B Ranch, through her quarter century on the Unites States Supreme Court, as well as her most recent initiatives.

Reproduced from the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress, this 70 reel microfilm collection contains all the opinions of Chief Justice Earl Warren, as well as conference memoranda and correspondence from 1953 through 1974.

Speeches, Writings and Supreme Court Case Files have been digitized by Washington & Lee Law Library.

Collection of papers held by the Hollis library at Harvard University.

Location of manuscript collections of federal judges. The directory is also available on the Federal Judicial Center's website in PDF and is incorporated into the entries in the Biographical Directory of Federal Judges.

See "Locations of the Justices' Personal Papers" (Table 5-11). Also available electronically.

Provides detailed registers of papers belonging to important figures in American history in the Library of Congress, including the following Supreme Court Justices: Hugo L. Black, Harry A. Blackmum, William J. Brennan, Harold H. Burton, Salmon P. Chase, William O. Douglas, Oliver Ellsworth, Felix Frankfurter, Arthur J. Goldberg, Charles Evans Hughes, Robert Houghwout Jackson, William Johnson, Horace Lurton, John Marshall, Thurgood Marshall, Samuel Miller, Wiley Rutledge, George Sutherland, William Howard Taft, Earl Warren, Byron R. White, and Levi Woodbury.

The Guide describes the personal papers collection of each Justice , the location, size, provenance and status, description, and access.

Adrienne deVergie & Maty Kate Kell (online) Arranged alphabetically by Justice, this guide lists personal paper collections of other notable individuals containing correspondence, business papers, and official records from Justices.

From the Federal Judicial Center, a guide for federal judges on the importance of judges' records and how to proceed with preserving personal papers.