Court rules prescribe procedures for practice in the courts, including the U.S. Supreme Court. The Supreme Court rules dictate such matters as how to petition for writ of certiorari, how to be admitted to the Supreme Court bar, and how to conduct an oral argument before the Court. The Rules of the U.S. Supreme Court are available from the sources below:
- Lexis: Browse Sources > Search Sources > USCS - Federal Rules Annotated
Open the Table of Contents of the Annotated Federal Rules; expand Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States.
- Westlaw: Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States
Included in the United State Code Annotated.
- Bloomberg Law: Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States
Current rules of the U.S. Supreme Court.
- United States Supreme Court Website (unannotated)
Provides the text of the rules with a subject index.
- Federal Civil Judicial Procedure and Rules (KF8816 .A194)
Provides the unannotated text of the rules. A single index provides subject access to all of the rule sets (e.g., Supreme Court Rules, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure) in the volume.
- United States Code (KF62 2006 .A2)
Rules are located at the end of the volume containing Title 28. The United States Code provides the text of the rules and advisory committee notes, but it does not provide case annotations. This is an official source of federal court rules; however, it tends to be at least two or three years out of date. The United States Code is also available on FDsys and through HeinOnline.
- United States Code Annotated (KF62 1927.A3)
Rules are located after the Title 28 volumes. U.S.C.A. provides the text of rules, case annotations, and cross references to law review articles, West,s Legal Forms, West,s Federal Practice Manual, Wright and Miller,s Federal Practice and Procedure, and other secondary sources. An index to the Rules of the Supreme Court appears right at the end of those rules.
- United States Code Service (KF62 1972.U5].
Rules are located after the Title 50 volumes. U.S.C.S. provides the text of the rules, case annotations, and cross references to law review articles, American Jurisprudence Trials, American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms, Moore,s Federal Practice, and other secondary sources. An index to the Rules of the Supreme Court appears at the end of the volume containing those rules.
- Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States
- HeinOnline's U.S. Supreme Court Library includes a bibliography of forty-two rules pamphlets (1790-2010) available in the U.S. Supreme Court Library and rules and rules changes published in the U.S. Reports from 1790-2010.
- The Georgetown Law Library has thirty-four of the thirty-nine pamphlets on microfiche (1790-1984) (KF9056 .A19 Micro) and five in print (1858, 1970, 1980, 1990, and 1997) (KF9056.A19 U96, KF9056 .A2 2006r).
- Gressman et al., Supreme Court Practice: For Practice in the Supreme Court of the United States (10th ed. 2013) (KF9057 .S8)
Also available on Bloomberg Law.
- Federal Practice and Procedure (4th ed. 2008) ("Wright and Miller") (KF9619 .W7 2008)
Also available on Westlaw.
- Moore's Federal Practice (3d ed. 1997) (KF8820. A313 M63)
Cancelled in 204; also available on Lexis > Browse Sources > Search Sources
- David C. Frederick, Supreme Court and Appellate Advocacy (2d ed. 2010) (KF8870 .F74)
Includes chapters on common questions, common mistakes, and characteristics of the best advocates.
- Reagan Wm. Simpson & Mary Vasaly, The Amicus Brief: How to Write It and Use It Effectively (3rd ed. 2010) (KF8748 .S536)
- Case Handling Guides ( United States Supreme Court)
Includes Guide to Filing Paid Cases, Guide to Filing In Forma Pauperis Cases, and Guide for Counsel in Cases to Be Argued.
- Bar Admissions (United States Supreme Court)
Provides both instructions and the appropriate form for applying for admission to practice before the Supreme Court.