Bloomberg Law Docket Search. Open the Dockets & Litigation tab. Choose to search a particular New York state court or all New York state courts by typing "New York" into the Courts search box and choosing the relevant courts. Then use a terms and connectors search in the keywords search box.
WebCivil Supreme, New York State Unified Court System. Provides access to information about open court cases for any Civil Supreme Court case in 62 Counties, such as name of plaintiff, defendant, judge, attorney, and law firm; appearance date and type of action; decisions are available for some cases. Searchable by firm or attorney name, index number, plaintiff, and defendant. (1998 - present)
WebCivil Local, New York State Unified Court System. WebCivil Local contains cases from all the local Civil Courts in New York State (61 City Courts, the District Courts in Nassau and Suffolk Counties, and the New York City Civil Courts). You may search for cases by Index Number, Party Name, Attorney/Firm Name or Judge, and produce calendars for a specific Attorney/Firm or by Judge or Part. Includes information on Landlord-Tenant cases.
New York State Courts E-Filing (NYCSEF), New York State Unified Court System. Provides access to legal papers (PDF) in civil lawsuits filed electronically, except for those sealed by court order. Searchable by claim/index number, party name, or attorney name. The system currently accepts electronic filing of commercial, tort and tax certiorari cases in the Supreme Court in Albany, Bronx, Erie, Essex, Kings, Monroe, Nassau, New York, Niagara, Onodaga, Queens, Richmond, Suffolk, Sullivan and Westchester Counties. (2003 - present). Search as Guest.
WebCrims, New York State Unified Court System. "[E]nables you to view pending criminal cases in local and superior courts in 13 counties and summons cases for all of New York City. You may search for cases by Case Number or Party Name and produce calendars by County and Part or Judge." Also displays universal summons case information for the five counties of New York City. You can search by docket number or the name of defendant (only cases with future court dates).
Finding Dockets, Records & Briefs
New York State Courts E-Filing (NYCSEF), New York State Unified Court System. Provides access to legal papers (PDF) in civil lawsuits filed electronically, except for those sealed by court order. Searchable by claim/index number, party name, or attorney name. The system currently accepts electronic filing of commercial, tort and tax certiorari cases in the Supreme Court in Albany, Bronx, Erie, Essex, Kings, Monroe, Nassau, New York, Niagara, Onodaga, Queens, Richmond, Suffolk, Sullivan and Westchester Counties. (2003 - present). Search as Guest.
NYS Court-Pass, Court of Appeals State of New York: Provides free access to the following Court of Appeals materials for appeals, 500.27 certified questions, and judicial conduct matters pending on or filed after January 1, 2013: Motion papers filed by the parties in civil cases where the Court has granted leave to appeal; Briefs; Records or appendices; Videos of oral arguments; Transcripts of oral arguments; Court decisions. Some records are sealed because they contain confidential information or redacted to protect sensitive information. Materials are available once they are processed by the Clerk's Office.
New York Briefs on Westlaw: Includes selected briefs from N.Y. Court of Appeals (from 1992) and N.Y. Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First, Second, Third and Fourth Departments (from 1995).
