Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

New York Resources

This State Guide lists the major sources of law in New York.

Court of Appeals Decisions

New York Reports (formally titled Reports of Cases Decided in the Court of Appeals of the State of New York): The official reporter of Court of Appeals decisions.

West's New York Supplement: An unofficial reporter that includes cases argued and determined in the Court of Appeals, Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, as well as the Supreme Court and other courts.

North Eastern Reporter (also known as West's North Eastern Reporter and Northeastern Reporter): An unofficial reporter that includes cases argued and determined in the courts of New York state's Court of Appeals (only) as well as cases in Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts and Ohio. 

Official Edition New York Law Reports : Advance Sheets of the Official Reports of the Court of Appeals, the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, the Supreme Court and the Miscellaneous Courts 

Slip Opinions on New York State Court of Appeals website (current year)

NY Court of Appeals Cases from 1794 on Lexis

New York Official Reports on Westlaw: Cases from New York Reports, Appellate Division Reports, and New York Miscellaneous Reports, the official sources for New York state court opinions. Coverage begins with 1847 for New York Reports; 1896 for Appellate Division Reports; and 1892 for New York Miscellaneous Reports.

New York State Cases on Westlaw: Include documents that would appear in New York Reports (N.Y.) West's North Eastern Reporter, (N.E.2d), West's New York Supplement (N.Y.S.) and others covering Court of the Correction of Errors: 1828 - 1841, Supreme Court of Judicature: 1828 - 1841, Court of Appeals from 1847 - ,  Supreme Court, Appellate Division from 1896 - , Supreme Court from 1799 - , Miscellaneous courts of record from 1888 - . 

New York Court of Appeals Cases from 1799 on Bloomberg Law: Also includes Supreme Court Appellate Division 1847 to Current; Supreme Court 1794 to Current; County Courts 1848 to Current; Family Courts 1932 to Current; City of New York Courts 1669 to Current; City Courts 1855 to Current; and more

New York Court of Appeals Decisions on Legal Information Institute (1990 - 2010)

Court of Appeals of New York Cases on Findlaw (1997 - )

New York Law Journal: An unofficial reporter that publishes some unpublished opinions.

LLMC Digital: Historical NY state case law reports

New York Appellate Division Decsions

Appellate Division Reports (formally called Reports of Cases Decided in the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, State of New  York): The official reporter for cases decided in the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court.

West's New York Supplement: An unofficial reporter that includes cases argued and determined in the Court of Appeals, Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, as well as the Supreme Court and other courts.

Official Edition New York Law Reports : Advance Sheets of the Official Reports of the Court of Appeals, the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, the Supreme Court and the Miscellaneous Courts 

NY Supreme Court Cases - Appellate Division from 1875 on Lexis

New York Official Reports on Westlaw: Cases from New York Reports, Appellate Division Reports, and New York Miscellaneous Reports, the official sources for New York state court opinions. Coverage begins with 1847 for New York Reports; 1896 for Appellate Division Reports; and 1892 for New York Miscellaneous Reports.

New York State Cases on Westlaw: Include documents that would appear in New York Reports (N.Y.) West's North Eastern Reporter, (N.E.2d), West's New York Supplement (N.Y.S.) and others covering Court of the Correction of Errors: 1828 - 1841, Supreme Court of Judicature: 1828 - 1841, Court of Appeals from 1847 - ,  Supreme Court, Appellate Division from 1896 - , Supreme Court from 1799 - , Miscellaneous courts of record from 1888 - . 

Supreme Court Appellate Division on Bloomberg Law (1847 - )

New York Supreme Court, Appellate Division Cases on Findlaw (1997 - )

New York Law Journal: An unofficial reporter that publishes some unpublished opinions.

LLMC Digital: Historical NY state case law reports

New York Trial-Level Court Decisions

Miscellaneous Reports: An official reporter that includes cases decided in courts of the State of New York other than the Court of Appeals and the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court. (Formally titled: Reports of Selected Cases Decided in the Appellate Term of the Supreme Court and Other Courts of the State of New York Other than the Court of Appeals and the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court.)

West's New York Supplement: An unofficial reporter that includes cases argued and determined in the Court of Appeals, Appellate Division of the Supreme Court, as well as the Supreme Court and other courts.

NY Lower Court - Trial Orders on Lexis (1803 - )

New York Official Reports on Westlaw: Cases from New York Reports, Appellate Division Reports, and New York Miscellaneous Reports, the official sources for New York state court opinions. Coverage begins with 1847 for New York Reports; 1896 for Appellate Division Reports; and 1892 for New York Miscellaneous Reports.

New York State Cases on Westlaw: Include documents that would appear in New York Reports (N.Y.) West's North Eastern Reporter, (N.E.2d), West's New York Supplement (N.Y.S.) and others covering Court of the Correction of Errors: 1828 - 1841, Supreme Court of Judicature: 1828 - 1841, Court of Appeals from 1847 - ,  Supreme Court, Appellate Division from 1896 - , Supreme Court from 1799 - , Miscellaneous courts of record from 1888 - . 

Supreme Court on Bloomberg Law (1794 - )

Other Court Reports for New York on Bloomberg Law (coverage varies per court, includes the County Courts and City of New York Courts)

WebCivil Supreme, New York State Civil Supreme Courts cases on NY State Unified Court System (coverage varies per county) 

"WebCivil provides online access to information about cases in Civil Supreme Court in all 62 counties of New York State."

LLMC Digital: Historical NY state case law reports

Court Structure

Civil

Civil Court Structure

Criminal

Criminal Court Structure

Case Law Research Tutorial

Running time: 3:01 minutes

Created/updated: July 2019
Last reviewed: July 2019

When you begin a video and hover your cursor over the video window, you are offered several options:

  1. Closed captioning
  2. Search (searches the captions, can take you directly to the point in the video where a specific word is mentioned)
  3. Playback speed (faster or slower)
  4. Full screen mode