Below is a selected list of periodical databases and other resources for researching interdisciplinary, cultural, and ethnic studies. Lauinger's list of research guides includes individual guides on specific topics, such as Arab & Middle Eastern, Russian & East European Studies, etc. These guides will identify specific periodical databases, secondary sources, and other research resources suitable for research of that specific topic.
Periodical Databases:
- Bibliography of Asian Studies: References western-language books, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften on all parts of Asia. Allows browsing by subject, journal title, or by country/region or search by topic. Covers the social sciences as well as the humanities.
- Central and Eastern European Online Library: Online archive of articles from 125 Central and Eastern European scholarly journals. Includes articles in English and about two dozen other European languages.
- Ethnic Newswatch: Full text database of the newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority and native presses from the U.S. and other countries. Includes articles, editorials, columns, and reviews providing a diversity of perspectives.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI): Bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world, from 1970-present.
- International Index to Black Periodicals: Current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean. Full text coverage of over 20 core black studies periodicals from 1998 - present.
- RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies: From 1966-present. Selective bibliography of research articles relevant to the field of Judaica. Material is compiled from several thousand English, Hebrew, Yiddish and European language sources. Much of the material reflects the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.
- JSTOR: JSTOR is a digital archive of core journals in various fields. It contains the entire runs of these journals, from the first volume up to the volumes published a few years ago. Each journal has a "moving wall" of access, typically 3-5 years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.
- Project MUSE: Scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Full text is available for titles marked with a green arrow.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Reference Works
Individual Journal Titles
See the Finding Articles by Citation page for instructions on ascertaining if you have access to specific journals. If the library does not have a subscription you can request a PDF of articles via Interlibrary Loan.
