Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Congressional Investigations Research Guide

This guide introduces the chief sources of information related to Congressional investigations, including impeachments and other notable investigations throughout U.S. history.

Contents

Subject-Based Searching Tutorial

Running time: 3:38

Key to Icons

  • Georgetown restricted access
  • On Westlaw
  • On Lexis
  • On Bloomberg
  • PDF Document
  • More Info Available (hover)

Introduction

This page discusses books, journal articles, news articles, and CRS reports which might be useful when researching Congressional investigations. It includes lists of some specific titles and articles that might be of general interest, and also provides guidance on locating additional and more specific materials.  Note also the video tutorials available on the left.

For a list of resources that may be particularly useful if you are new to this topic, see the Getting Started box on the Introduction page of this guide.  You may find the following book in our collection particularly useful as a starting place:

News & Analysis

For news sources containing articles relevant to a particular event or to the circumstances surrounding a particular Congressional investigation, refer to our research guide on finding newspaper articles.  

For authoritative analysis on the major legislation and actions of Congress for each year since 1945, refer to the CQ Almanac, available via the CQ Electronic Library, which also includes CQ Magazine (a weekly news magazine featuring detailed reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections) back to 1983.

Journal Articles

This section lists some significant academic articles written about various aspects of Congressional investigations.  Use our E-Journal Finder tool to locate these articles electronically.

Keep in mind that this is only a small number of the articles written on the subject. To find more, please refer to our research guides on finding academic articles (there is a section on "Public Policy & Legislative" sources).

CRS Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is the research and analysis arm of the U.S. Congress. CRS has written several reports that discuss the history, procedures, and legality of Congressional investigations, several of which are listed below.

The CRS also sometimes writes reports on specific investigations. The best way to find those reports is to search the ProQuest Congressional database (tutorial). Use the "Advanced Search" tool and make sure only the "CRS Reports" box is checked under "Limit to."

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to their reports, however, the University of North Texas (UNT) has a digital collection of searchable, full-text CRS Reports available online with coverage extending back to the 1990s.PDFs listed below should link to the UNT collection.