Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research

This is a quick guide to scholarly article databases and indexes. It includes indexes to journals and magazines, as well as other scholarly literature.

Using Indexes to Find Articles by Topic

A search for articles should always begin with a search of relevant journal indexes. Similar to a library catalog's listing of books, a journal index is a listing of articles that appear in journals, newsletters, and magazines. Some legal journal indexes also include tables that list articles by statute or case name. The index listing includes bibliographic information about the article, including journal name, article title, author, volume, issue, page number and date, as well as one or more subject descriptors.

Searching journal indexes is more effective than searching full-text databases because the search is done only on the bibliographic information and the subject descriptors(ie: securities and disclosure), therefore yielding more relevant results. The subject descriptors for an article are very important for research, for once a useful article is identified, similar articles can be found by searching the same subject terms found in the first article.

Once you locate the bibliographic information, you can use the Finding E-Journals Tutorial to find out how to locate the articles in the library.

The Law Center Library subscribes to the major legal journal indexes, and many that are non-legal. Additionally, access to the majority of indexes available at the main university library, Lauinger Library, is available via the Law Center network.

Subject-Based Searching Tutorial

Running time: 3:38

E-journal Finder Tutorial

Running time: 2:04