Guides: Law Alumni Resources: Off-Campus Resources

Williams Library Reference

Reference Desk:
Reading Room, 2nd floor
(202) 662-9140

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Off-Campus Resources

Georgetown University offers all alumni off-site access to a number of research databases, including full-text articles covering a wide range of disciplines. For access, alumni need a Georgetown University NetID and password.

Students graduating from the Law Center in May will continue to have off-campus access to the Law Library's full collection of online databases until the end of July after graduation.

Georgetown Law alumni also have access to services available to students:

Call, email, or chat with a librarian for research assistance during the Law Library's reference hours.
Browse the digital collections of the Law Library.

Georgetown NetID

To access electronic services (including databases and chat) from off-campus, graduates need to use a Georgetown University NetID and password.

If you do not have a NetID, register to get a NetID. If you have a NetID but forgot your password, you can reset it using Georgetown's NetID Password Management System. Please view Alumni NetID FAQs for additional information.

University Information Services (help@georgetown.edu; 202-687-4949) is happy to assist with password questions. Unfortunately, neither the Law Library nor the Law Center's help desk can assist with passwords.

Databases

Georgetown University offers alumni off-site access to several research databases. View the Alumni Access to Full-Text Articles page for access to all online resources provided for the Georgetown alumni community.

Some of the more popular databases include:

CQ Press
Provides access to all CQ Press Products including the CQ Press Political Reference Suite (including Congress and the Nation, Historic Documents Series, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook), CQ Researcher (reports covering the most current and controversial issues of the day), and CQ Weekly (political and legislative news, forecasts, and congressional voting records).
Mergent Online
Full-text information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies and over 15,000 non-U.S. companies. Includes company history, officers, subsidiaries, financial data, and annual reports. Access to SEC filings (EDGAR) back to 1993. Also includes company archives, with information on over 4,000 public companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, or merged out of existence from 1995 onward. Includes U.S. and International industry reports.
RefWorks
RefWorks is an online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers gather, manage, store, and share information and generate citations and bibliographies. Note: If you are asked for a Group Code when using Write-n-Cite, ask Lauinger Library. The code can be sent only to Georgetown email addresses.

Lexis, Westlaw & Bloomberg Law

Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law offer extended access to recent graduates for a limited period of time after graduation. Visit our Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law webpage for more information. Please Note: Beyond these post-graduation periods, our licenses limit access to the current Georgetown Law community only.

CALI

For six months after graduation, alumni have free access to CALI tutorials. CALI provides hundreds of interactive legal instructional lessons on topics from contracts to torts. Recent graduates may contact the Reference Desk for a registration code to access CALI.

Research Guides, Treatise Finders & Tutorials

Need a guide to a specific research topic or technique? Need help locating a treatise? Looking for a research tutorial?

Visit our Research Guides for help with federal, state, foreign and international laws topics.
Visit our Treatise Finders to locate prominent treatises in your research area.
Visit our Tutorials for help with secondary sources, legislative history research, and more.

Free & Low Cost Legal Resources

Looking for resources beyond Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law? Visit our guide on Free and Low Cost Legal Research.

Bar Exam Resources

Looking for resources for the bar exam? Visit our guide on Bar Exam Resources.

Job Searching Resources

Looking for resources for your job search or to prepare for your job interview? Visit our guide on Job Searching, or view our tutorials on Job Hunting and Interviewing.

Our alumni also have access to Interstride, a platform that helps international students launch their career in the U.S. and globally.

Public Law Libraries

Looking for a public law library in D.C., Maryland, or Virginia? Visit our guide on Libraries in the D.C. Area.

Law Alumni Resources

Contents