Guides: Trial Practice Research Guide: Getting Started

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Introduction

This research guide is intended as a starting point for research in the area of trial practice. While not comprehensive, it provides a listing of the most important, current, and relevant materials available in this subject area.

The following are some significant secondary sources which cover trial practice. They are excellent places to begin your research, especially if you are new to this subject.

Trial Techniques and Trials
Publication Date: 2021
Trial Techniques and Trials unveils the strategies and thought processes that lawyers use in the courtroom as they present evidence and construct a persuasive argument. Tom Mauet's clear writing and abundant examples explain and illustrate every step of the jury trial process. Comprehensive yet concise, the Tenth Edition provides authoritative coverage, from opening statements, to jury selection, direct-examination, cross-examination, exhibits, objections, and more.
The Fine Art of Trial Advocacy by Paul Mark Sandler
Publication Date: 2021
This book introduces young lawyers to the art of trial advocacy. The author provides a historical context and shares engaging stories of exemplary trial lawyers throughout history. Each stage of the trial is considered in depth with examples from real cases.
Trial Handbook
Publication Date: Fall 2023
Practicing Law Institute's handbook on preparing for trial from opening statements to closing arguments.

Getting Started

Below are secondary sources for trial practice on a variety of litigation types:

American Jurisprudence

American Jurisprudence Trials
"American Jurisprudence Trials contains articles authored by attorneys and legal experts and covers all areas of litigation. The articles provide trial-tested litigation tools to secure better settlements and verdicts."
American Jurisprudence Proof of Facts
This set consists on detailed articles on the elements of proof for very specific evidentiary issues.
American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms Annotated
American Jurisprudence Pleading and Practice Forms Annotated contains more than 44,000 state and federal practice forms, checklists, and timetables.