Supreme Court Nominations Research Guide

On January 31, 2017, President Trump nominated Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit Neil M. Gorsuch to fill the seat previously held by Justice Scalia. Judge Gorsuch's confirmation hearings began on March 20, 2017. On April 7, 2017, the Senate confirmed Neil M. Gorsuch by a vote of 54-45 (1 not voting), and he was sworn in on Monday, April 10, 2017.

• Senate Judiciary Commitee: List of documents submitted with committee questionnaire, letters sent and received in connection with the nomination, and a photo gallery.
• C-SPAN video of confirmation hearings, swearing in ceremony, and more.
• Full transcripts of the hearings are available in the CQ Transcriptions database on LexisNexis. Search for "Gorsuch".
• Judiciary Committee Vote
• Senate Vote Summary

• United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit 
• Background from the White House
• Profile from The Washington Post
• Profile on SCOTUSblog
• Profile from the New York Times
• Profile archived from the White House Judicial Nomination for the United States Court of Appeals
• Wikipedia entry

• Congressional Hearing: Nominee to be U.S. Court of Appeals Judge for the Tenth Circuit (June 21, 2006) (see pp. 9-60).
• Discussions of the Gorsuch Nomination Appearing in the Congressional Record (July 20, 2006) (see pp. S8032-S8036).

To search for opinions by Judge Gorsuch with Lexis, the following advanced search fields for 10th Circuit Federal cases are available: Opinion By, Concurrence By and Dissent By. The following advanced search fields are available with Westlaw: Written By, Concurring and Dissenting. Full-text Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals opinions by Judge Gorsuch are available on the court's website. Search by case name.

• Notable decisions by Judge Gorsuch, as compiled by ABC News, along with video commentary by ABC news staff (web page archived on Feb. 9, 2017)
• A compilation of Judge Neil Gorsuch's jurisprudence in a number of key areas from SCOTUSblog.

Books

• Co-Author:
  • Bryan A. Garner, et al., The Law of Judicial Precedent (2016) [Call Number: Reading Room Study Aids KF429 .G37 2016]
• Author:
  • Neil M. Gorsuch, The Future of Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia (2006).

Book Chapters

• Neil M. Gorsuch, Intention and the Allocation of Risk, in Reason, Morality and Law: The Philosophy of John Finnis 413 (John Keown & Robert P. George eds., 2013).

Articles

• Neil M. Gorsuch, Access to Affordable Justice: A Challenge to the Bench, Bar, and Academy, 100 Judicature 46 (2016).
• Neil M. Gorsuch, Of Lions and Bears, Judges and Legislators, and the Legacy of Justice Scalia, 66 Case W. Res. L. Rev. 905 (2016).
• Neil M. Gorsuch, Law's Irony, 37 Harv. J. L. & Pub. Pol'y 743 (2014).
• Neil Gorsuch, Liberals’N’Lawsuits, Nat’l Rev. Online (Feb. 7, 2007, 7:42 AM).
• Neil M. Gorsuch & Paul B. Matey, No Loss, No Gain: The Supreme Court Should Make Clear That Securities Fraud Claims Can't Dodge the Element of Causation, Nat’l L. J. Online (Jan. 31, 2005).
• Neil M. Gorsuch, The Legalization of Assisted Suicide and the Law of Unintended Consequences: A Review of the Dutch and Oregon Experiments and Leading Utilitarian Arguments for Legal Change, 2004 Wis. L. Rev. 1347 (2004).
• Neil M. Gorsuch, Letter to the Editor, Nonpartisan Fee Awards, Wash. Post, Mar. 18, 2004, at A20.
• Neil Gorsuch, Justice White and Judicial Excellence, UPI (May 4, 2002, 7:05 AM).
• Neil M. Gorsuch, The Right to Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia, 23 Harv. J. L. & Pub. Pol'y 599 (2000).
• Neil Gorsuch & Michael Guzman, Rule of Law: The Constitutional Case for Term Limits, Wall. St. J., Nov. 4, 1992, at A15. 
• Neil M. Gorsuch & Michael Guzman, Will the Gentlemen Please Yield a Defense of the Constitutionality of State-Imposed Term Limitations, 20 Hofstra L. Rev. 341 (1991).

Working Paper

• Neil M. Gorsuch & Paul B. Matey, Settlements in Securities Fraud Class Actions: Improving Investor Protection (Wash. Legal Found., Working Paper No. 128, 2005).

• Dura Pharm., Inc. v. Broudo:
  • Westlaw: Brief of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States as Amicus Curiae in Support of Petitioners, Dura Pharm., Inc. v. Broudo, 544 U.S. 336 (2005) (No. 03-932), 2004 WL 2069560,
  • Lexis: Brief of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States as Amicus Curiae in Support of Petitioners, Dura Pharm., Inc. v. Broudo, 544 U.S. 336 (2005) (No. 03-932), 2004 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs LEXIS 581.
• Lentell v. Merrill Lynch & Co.:
  • Westlaw: Brief for Amici Curiae the United States Chamber of Commerce and Business Roundtable in Support of Defendants-Appellees and Urging Affirmance of the District Court’s Decision, Lentell v. Merrill Lynch & Co., 396 F.3d 161 (2d Cir. 2005) (No. 03-7948), 2004 WL 1592856.
  • Lexis: Brief for Amici Curiae the United States Chamber of Commerce and Business Roundtable in Support of Defendants-Appellees and Urging Affirmance of the District Court’s Decision, Lentell v. Merrill Lynch & Co., 396 F.3d 161 (2d Cir. 2005) (No. 03-7948), 2004 U.S. 2nd Cir. Pleadings LEXIS 1.
• Verizon Delaware, Inc. v. Covad Commc'ns Co.:
  • Reply Brief of Appellants and Opposition Brief on Cross Appeal, Verizon Delaware, Inc. v. Covad Commc'ns Co., 377 F.3d 1081 (9th Cir. 2004) (Nos. 03-15453, 03-15557), on Westlaw: 2003 WL 22716369.
  • Brief of Appellants, Verizon Delaware, Inc. v. Covad Commc'ns Co., 377 F.3d 1081 (9th Cir. 2004) (Nos. 03-15453, 03-15557), on Westlaw: 2003 WL 22716353.
• U.S. Tobacco Co. v. Conwood Co., L.P.:
  • Westlaw: Brief for Respondents in Opposition, U.S. Tobacco Co. v. Conwood Co., L.P., 537 U.S. 1148 (2003) (No. 02-603), 2002 WL 32133469.
  • Lexis: Brief for Respondents in Opposition, U.S. Tobacco Co. v. Conwood Co., L.P., 537 U.S. 1148 (2003) (No. 02-603), 2002 U.S. 6th Cir. Briefs LEXIS 49.
• Conwood Co., L.P. v. U.S. Tobacco Co.:
  • Westlaw: Final Brief for Appellees, Conwood Co., L.P. v. U.S. Tobacco Co., 290 F.3d 768 (6th Cir. 2002) (No. 00-6267), 2001 WL 34624907.
  • Lexis: Final Brief for Appellees, Conwood Co., L.P. v. U.S. Tobacco Co., 290 F.3d 768 (6th Cir. 2002) (No. 00-6267), 2001 U.S. 6th Cir. Briefs LEXIS 96.
• Devlin v. Scardelleti:
  • Westlaw: Brief of Amicus Curiae Council of Institutional Investors in Support of Petitioner, Devlin v. Scardelletti, 536 U.S. 1 (2002) (No. 01-417), 2002 WL 113883.
  • Lexis: Brief of Amicus Curiae Council of Institutional Investors in Support of Petitioner, Devlin v. Scardelletti, 536 U.S. 1 (2002) (No. 01-417), 2002 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs LEXIS 48.
• Zachair, Ltd. v. Driggs:
  • Brief for Appellant Zachair, Ltd., Zachair, Ltd. v. Driggs, 135 Md. App. 403 (2000) (No. 02865), on Westlaw: 2000 WL 34521517.
  • Zachair, Ltd.’s Consolidated Cross-Appellee’s Brief and Appellant’s Reply Brief, Zachair, Ltd. v. Driggs, 135 Md. App. 403 (2000) (No. 02865), on Westlaw: 2000 WL 34521518.
  • Brief for Appellant, Zachair, Ltd. v. Driggs, 141 F.3d 1162 (1998) (No. 97-1811), on Westlaw: 1997 WL 33492198.
  • Reply Brief for the Appellant, Zachair, Ltd. v. Driggs, 141 F.3d 1162 (1998) (No. 97-1811), on Westlaw: 1997 WL 33492200.
• California Pub. Employees’ Ret. Sys. v. Felzen:
  • Westlaw: Petitioners’ Reply Brief to Oppositions of Archer Daniels Midland Company and Directors of Archer Daniels Midland Company, California Pub. Employees' Ret. Sys. v. Felzen, 525 U.S. 315 (1999) (No. 97-1732), 1998 WL 34112361.
  • Westlaw: Petition for Writ of Certiorari, California Pub. Employees' Ret. Sys. v. Felzen, 525 U.S. 315 (1999) (No. 97-1732), 1998 WL 34112179.
  • Westlaw: Brief for Petitioners, California Pub. Employees' Ret. Sys. v. Felzen, 525 U.S. 315 (1999) (No. 97-1732), 1998 WL 784589.
• Online Yellow Pages, Inc. v. Bell Atl. Directory Servs., Inc.:
  • Brief for Appellees, Online Yellow Pages, Inc. v. Bell Atl. Directory Servs., Inc., 178 F.3d 1280 (3d Cir. 1999) (No. 98-3509), on Westlaw: 1998 WL 34096422.
• Buford v. H&R Block, Inc.:
  • Brief of Appellants, Buford v. H & R Block, Inc., 117 F.3d 1433 (11th Cir. 1997) (No. 96-8969), on Westlaw: 1996 WL 33499214.
  • Reply Brief of Appellants, Buford v. H & R Block, Inc., 117 F.3d 1433 (11th Cir. 1997) (No. 96-8969), on Westlaw: 1997 WL 33642997.
• Washington v. Glucksberg:
  • Westlaw: Brief Amicus Curiae of the American Hospital Association in Support of Petitioners, Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702 (1997) (Nos. 96-110, 96-1858), 1996 WL 656278.
  • Lexis: Brief Amicus Curiae of the American Hospital Association in Support of Petitioners, Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702 (1997) (Nos. 96-110, 96-1858), 1996 U.S. S. Ct. Briefs LEXIS 745.

• Video/Transcript: Trump Picks Neil Gorsuch for Supreme Court, New York Times (January 31, 2017). Includes speeches by President Trump and Judge Gorsuch, and full transcripts.
• Video: Supreme Court Nominee Announcement, C-SPAN (January 31, 2017). Includes speeches by President Trump and Judge Gorsuch.
• Video: Life and Legacy of Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia, C-SPAN (September 3, 2016). Includes a discussion during the Tenth Circuit Court Bench & Bar Conference moderated by Judge Gorsuch.
• Video: Of Lions and Bears, Judges and Legislators: Some Reflections on the Legacy of Justice Scalia. Includes a lecture by Judge Gorsuch webcast at Case Western Reserve University School of Law (April 7, 2016).
• Video: 13^th Annual Barbara K. Olson Memorial Lecture (C-SPAN) (Nov. 22, 2013). Includes a speech by Judge Neil Gorsuch at the National Lawyers Convention hosted by the Federalist Society.

• A compilation of posts by SCOTUSblog on the Nomination of Neil Gorsuch to the Supreme Court.
• Selected sources by Library of Congress on Neil Gorsuch.