Below are some major treaties used to address corruption. Note that this list is not complete—for example, mutual legal assistance treaties (MLATs), used “to obtain evidence, information, and testimony abroad,” are not included here.
- African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption
This convention was adopted on July 11, 2003 and entered into force on August 5, 2006. This page includes the text of the treaty as well as its ratification status.
- Civil Law Convention on Corruption
This convention was adopted on November 4, 1999 and entered into force on November 1, 2003. According to the Council of Europe’s Treaty Office website, the convention is open to “non-member states which took part in drawing it up; other non-member states by invitation; and the European Community.” Includes the text of the treaty as well as its ratification status.
- Criminal Law Convention on Corruption
This convention was adopted on January 27, 1999 and entered into force July 1, 2002. According to the Council of Europe’s Treaty Office website, the conventions is open to “non-member states which took part in drawing it up; other non-member states by invitation; and the European Community.” Includes the text of the treaty as well as the ratification status.
The Additional Protocol to the Criminal Law Convention on Corruption requires the criminalization under national law of active and passive bribery in both the public and private sectors, specifically mentioning the bribery of members of foreign and domestic parliamentary assemblies and officials of international organizations. This protocol was adopted on May 15, 2003 and entered into force on February 1, 2005. Includes the text of the treaty as well as the ratification status.
- Inter-American Convention Against Corruption
This convention was adopted on March 29, 1996. According to the Organization of American State’s website, the convention enters into force on “the thirtieth day following the date of deposit of the second instrument of ratification” of the member state. Includes ratification status and an additional page with background information about the convention. The Mechanism for Follow-Up on the Implementation of the Inter-American Convention against Corruption (MESICIC) is an intergovernmental organization set up to support the enforcement of the convention.
- Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions
This convention was signed on December 17, 1997 and entered into force on the February 15, 1999. It is open to all OECD countries and 6 non-member countries (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Bulgaria, Estonia and Slovenia). This page includes the text of the convention as well as the ratification status.
- United Nations Convention against Corruption
This convention entered into force on December 14, 2005 by General Assembly Resolution 58/4. Includes the text of the convention as well as the ratification status.
Travaux préparatoires for the convention are also available in print and electronically (via HeinOnline).
- United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime and the Protocols Thereto
This convention entered into force on September 29, 2003 by General Assembly Resolution 55/25. Includes the text of the convention and its ratification status. The accompanying Legislative Guide has links to interpretative notes, a glossary, conference papers, and a review of the implementation of the convention and its protocols.
- United Nations Declaration Against Corruption and Bribery in International Commercial Transactions
This declaration adopted in December 1996 is a political commitment but does not have the force of law.
