Journal articles are an excellent source for learning about narrower, more specialized topics related to international and foreign competition law. Articles published in law journals typically include extensive footnotes with citations, which will help you to locate relevant primary law materials, as well as additional secondary sources.
Finding Articles in U.S. Law Journals
Two types of tools for locating law journal articles are described below.
- Journal indexes include bibliographic information about an article, such as the title, the name of the author, and the name of the journal, as well as one or more subject descriptors. Searching in a journal index usually yields more relevant articles because the searches are run only on the bibliographic data and the subject descriptors. Indexes for articles published primarily in U.S. law journals include:
- Full-text journal databases allow you to search by keyword within the entire text of an article, and typically some of the bibliographic information. It is easier to run searches in full-text databases, but they tend to retrieve a larger number of irrelevant or less-relevant articles than journal indexes. The legal research platforms listed below include full-text journal databases that focus primarily on U.S. law journals:
For more information on how to use indexes and full-text databases for journal article research, consult the following library research guide: Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research.
Finding Articles in Law Journals Published Outside the U.S.
To broaden your search to include articles published in non-U.S. law journals, use the journal indexes and full-text journal databases described below.
- Kluwer Competition Law
Provides full-text access to articles published in three specialized journals that focus primarily or exclusively on international and foreign competition law.
- Kluwer Law Online: Journals
This full-text database allows you to search across 23 English language journals published outside the U.S. that focus on various aspects of international economic law, including competition law.
- HeinOnline: Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
IFLP indexes articles from leading law journals around the world, including many published outside the U.S. in languages other than English. Each article is assigned one or more English subject headings, making it possible to search in English for articles published in other languages. For search tips, consult the Quick Reference Guide. Bear in mind that many of the articles indexed in IFLP are not available in full text on HeinOnline, so you may need to manually retrieve them or request them via interlibrary loan if not available at Georgetown (see below).
- Westlaw: Legal Journals Index (LJI)
LJI focuses primarily on U.K.-based journals but also includes citations to articles from English-language journals published elsewhere in Europe. Bear in mind that many of the articles indexed in LJI are not available in full text on Westlaw, o you may need to manually retrieve them or request them via interlibrary loan if not available at Georgetown (see below).
How to Retrieve an Article If You Already Have Its Citation
If you already have a citation to a journal article, use the resources described below to retrieve the full text. Keep in mind that electronic access to full-text articles varies by journal. Some journals are available on multiple databases, but the dates of coverage often vary across platforms. If the article you are seeking falls outside the dates of coverage for electronic access, you will need to access the journal in print, if available, or request a copy of the article via interlibrary loan.
- Search by Citation
If the article you are seeking is available in an electronic format from any Georgetown University library, you should be able to quickly retrieve the full text of the article by entering the citation information into this online form.
- Journal Finder
If the Search by Citation tool fails to retrieve the full text of the article you are seeking, search for the name of the journal in which the article was published in the Journal Finder. If the Georgetown Law Library has the journal in print, the Journal Finder will display print holdings and dates of coverage. It also willing display electronic holdings for the journal, along with the dates of coverage, for all Georgetown University libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If the article you are seeking is not available print from the Georgetown Law Library, or in an electronic format from any Georgetown University library, you may request a copy of the article from another library by using the interlibrary loan (ILL) service.
Specialized Journals on International and Foreign Competition Law
The journals listed below focus exclusively on international and foreign competition law.
- European Competition Law Review (ECLR)
- Print: Call No. K5 .U65 (1980–present)
- Electronic: Selected articles available on Westlaw (1986–present)
- Journal of Competition Law and Economics
- OECD Journal of Competition Law and Policy (ceased publication in 2011)
- World Competition Law and Economics Review (formerly Swiss Review of International Competition Law (1984-1987) and Swiss Review of International Antitrust Law (1977-1984))