Election Law Research Guide

Coverage includes the right to vote, voter turnout, legislative redistricting, the Voting Rights Act, racial gerrymandering, ballot propositions, constitutional rights and obligations of political parties, bribery,election administration, regulation of campaign speech, campaign finance, and term limits.

This is the first edition of this Nutshell, which provides a thorough description of the law governing voting rights, elections, and the political process in the United States. Topics addressed include the fundamental right to vote, gerrymandering, minority voting rights, ballot access, voter identification, recounts, direct democracy, and campaign finance. The Nutshell covers the constitutional law in these areas, including rights of free speech and equal protection, as well as the Voting Rights Act and other essential statutes. It addresses Shelby County v. Holder and other cases from the 2012-13 Supreme Court Term.

"Campaign Rules provides researchers an easy-to-use reference tool to help sort out state-based electoral rules. Campaign Rules provides detailed information for each state, including: key electoral turnout figures .statewide election outcomes .voting regulations .candidate regulations .campaign finance rules .judicial election information .primary election rules and dates .lobbying guidelines .ballot initiative information"

This compilation of handouts of an annual CLE on corporate political activities includes overviews of PACs, federal and state lobbying laws, HLOGA, federal and state campaign laws, and criminal enforcement of election laws. It has several helpful charts comparing state and federal laws.

Places electoral laws and the court's rulings on those laws in the context of electoral politics. Covers the range of topics important to election law - campaign finance, political parties, campaigning, redistricting, judicial elections, the Internet, voting machines, voter identification, ballot access, and direct democracy.

Analyzes the basic principles underlying the design of the existing and proposed election system. Discusses how the use of some election rules embedded in the U.S. Constitution and in the Presidential Succession Act may cause skewed or weird election outcomes and election stalemates. Also discusses the 20th Amendment and the National Popular Vote Plan.