Election Law Research Guide

Created by the Help America Vote Act (HAVA), the commission is charged with issuing guidance to states about HAVA. It also collects information on election administrative issues such as turnout, voting methods, voting systems, and registration.

"In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections."

Identifies online and print resources for research on election law.

Information on Federal and state elections, as well as coverage of Electoral College topics.

ProQuest Congressional provides CRS reports from 1916 to the present. It is one of the best, most comprehensive single sources for locating and searching through CRS Reports. (Use the Advanced Search page and uncheck everything except CRS Reports under Content Types on the left.)

Congress.gov provides public access to reports and other products created by Congressional Research Service. CRS routinely updates reports on their site, designed to reflect new developments and the needs of Congress. This is the official site for CRS Reports.

HeinOnline provides scanned versions of older CRS Reports from 1999 to the present. CRS reports are listed alphabetically.

EveryCRSReport.com provides free access to its collection of CRS reports and also includes archived reports from University of North Texas's CRS Report collection. You can Browse by Topic using the option below the search bar.

Provides CRS reports as they are delivered from 2005 to the present. All reports link to the PDF version provided by CRS.

"The Nation’s Leading Think Tank on Money in Politics in Federal and State Elections. Nonpartisan, Policy-Relevant and Timely." Good site with a wealth of information.

Election Law at Moritz is a center of election law expertise, providing information about election laws, election litigation, and election news from around the nation. . It is a nonpartisan research, education, and outreach program conducted by faculty and staff of The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law.

A resource from William & Mary Law School that covers state election litigation and redistricting

A nonpartisan voting non-profit that published reports on election policy and process.

In-depth analysis of election law policy.

Non-partisan public policy and law institute working to preserve and expand the right to vote. Through practical policy proposals, litigation, advocacy, and communications, the Brennan Center works to ensure that voting is free, fair, and accessible for all Americans. Associated with New York University School of Law.

The ABA Journal has compiled a list of election law blogs.

New research, analysis and commentary on election reform, voting technology, and election administration.

The law of politics and the politics of law: election law, the California recall, campaign finance, legislation, voting rights, initiatives, redistricting. Includes a repository of election law course materials.

The only comprehensive data set of voting equipment down to the precinct level of the United States, going back to 2006. Used by everyone: candidates, election officials, lawyers, academics, journalists, and more.