Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Complementary, Integrative, and Alternative Medicine Research Guide

This guide suggests research strategies and useful print and electronic resources on this emerging health care field.

Contents

Key to Icons

  • Georgetown only
  • On Westlaw
  • On Lexis
  • On Bloomberg
  • PDF
  • More Info (hover)
  • Preeminent Treatise
  • Study Aid

Finding Journal Articles

Lexis and Westlaw's law journal databases are the most popular places to search for relevant law journal articles. Searching Lexis and Westlaw's databases, however, is not necessarily the best or most efficient way of finding relevant journal articles, nor is it comprehensive. The Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research research guide explains the differences between searching journal indexes and searching full-text databases. It also suggests legal and non-legal indexes and full-text databases.

There are several journals dedicated to Complementary and Alternative Medicine; however, note that scholarly articles on CAM may appear in numerous periodicals, including those which are general in coverage, so do not limit your research only to CAM-specific journals.

CAM Journals

Alternative MedicineSaint Paul, Minn., 2011 - present.

Advances in Integrative MedicineAimed, 2014.

Journal of Alternative Medicine Research. Nova Science Publishers, 2009 - present.

Complementary and Alternative Medicine at the NIHComplementary & Alternative Medicine at the NIH, 199? - 2010.

BMC Complementary and Alternative MedicineBioMed Central Complementary and Alternative Medicine, 2001 - 2019.

Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative MedicineEcam, 2004 - present.

NCI's Annual Report on Complementary and Alternative MedicineNational Cancer Institute's Annual Report on Complementary and Alternative Medicine, 2005 - 2011. NIH Publication.

African Journal of Traditional, Complementary, and Alternative MedicinesAjtcam, 2004-2017.

Government Reports & Policies

Major Government Reports relating to Complementary and Alternative Medicine.

Clinton, William J. Executive Order 13147: White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy, March 7, 2000. Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, vol. 36, no. 10, 2000, p. 484.


White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy: Final Report. The Commission, 2002.

Gordon, James S. The White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy and the Future of HealthcareAltern Ther Health Med, vol. 10, no. 5, 2004, pp. 20–23.


Alternative Medicine: Expanding Medical Horizons: A Report to the National Institutes of Health on Alternative Medical Systems and Practices in the United States (prepared under the auspices of the Workshop on Alternative Medicine, Chantily, Virginia, September 14-16, 1992). Also called the Chantily Report. [Available by request from the Dahlgren Memorial Library, WB 890 W926a 1992]

 

Databases for Government Policy and Reports

PolicyFile (1990-)
Indexes and abstracts public policy research and analyses originating from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Where available, access to home pages and full text are made available within individual abstracts.


PAIS International (1972-) Indexes public policy and public affairs literature.


GAO Reports (1994-)
The Government Accountability Office (GAO) is the investigative arm of Congress. "Its mission is to support Congress in meeting its Constitutional responsibilities (e.g. oversight, policy, and funding decision) and to help improve the performance and accountability of the Federal Government for the American People." Most GAO reports are done at the request of members of Congress.


Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS Reports) available on ProQuest Congressional
These are non-partisan and in-depth reports produced by the Congressional Research Service, the Library of Congress's research arm, on various topics for Congress. 


CQ Researcher Weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies, and more. You can browse by topic in this resource or use the search engine. There is an entire subcategory under Health for Alternative Medicine. Some of the recent CAM-related publications are Conquering Rare Diseases (January 24, 2020), Clinical Trials (May 18, 2018), and Alternative Medicine (September 6, 2013).