Guides: Company Research Guide: Company Directories

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Company Directories

A business directory provides basic information on businesses in an industry group. How the businesses are organized and what you find are largely dependent on what database you use and what information the company has provided to that database. There is however some basic information you may be able to find such as the address, number of employees, contact information, and location.

BloombergLaw Company Lookup
Company profile page for Quick Search including stock price, company news, press releases, executives, board members, and contact information.
Business Market Research Collection
ProQuest database drawing from: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.
Chamber of Commerce
Link goes to the national organization's local chapter finder.
GreenBook Directory
GreenBook was founded in 1962 as a membership directory of the American Marketing Association’s New York chapter. As most members at the time were involved with marketing research, the membership directory quickly transformed into the GreenBook Directory of marketing research companies and facilities. GreenBook is now a hub of online resources.
Mergent Online
Full-text information on U.S. and non-U.S. companies. Includes company history, officers, subsidiaries, financial data, and annual reports. Access to SEC filings (EDGAR) back to 1993. Also includes Company Archives for historical information and US and International Industry Reports. Provides up to 30 years of historical daily international stock pricing.
Uniworld Online
Uniworld Online provides contact information for headquarters, branches, subsidiaries, and affiliates of multinational firms. Georgetown Law Library's premium global subscription includes access to American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the United States.

Company Research Guide

Contents

Key to Icons

Company Directories